Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Whats your net worth
View Single Post
Old 16-09-2013, 06:46 PM
Unregistered

You are indeed an honourable man and father, almost a saint in my opinion. 99.99% of men in your position would not want to give up the lust for POWER, WEALTH, GLUTTONY, ALCOHOL, WOMEN, ETC. You gave all these up for a higher cause. I salute you. May you achieve true happiness and well being.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I have been following this forum for quite some time and now I'm motivated to share my life story.

I worked in the finance industry for the past 25 years. Now I am a SAHD (stay at home dad). Over the past 20 years, I have bought and sold countless number of shares and 8 properties and I earned lots from my job. While my household income was very high, by Spore's standards, we we're not happy. I was practically an absent father due to the long hours. My kids didn't do well in school and were ill disciplined.

One day I realized that life is not all about money and so sat down with my wife to discuss. We had a long talk and we both cried after that. It was the first time in my life that I cried. We decided that since I have made so much money from my investments and made gains in the million range, it would be good for me to stop working and focus on my family. So I took the bold move to stop working. I now have two fully paid properties and a portfolio of other investments, which gives me a passive income of $40k pa. I started to coach my kids and become a great father. Their grades improved significantly and they are now better behaved. My wife still works and earn $100k pa. Since we have no debt, our household expenses are quite low at $80k pa. We save $60k pa. We have also built up education funds for my kids to see them through university education.