Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Working in a bank
View Single Post
Old 26-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Unregistered

May I be very honest here? I just want the career path which gives me the best probability of returns vs effort. I recognise that job security is probably just as bad in both.

I did my internship in corporate finance so I know what is in stored. I have a degree in accountancy. I don't know much about the treasury position but my friend (junior) in there appears to be doing much shorter hours than me but complains about P&L stress which we don't get at corp fin at junior levels. Juniors in corp fin don't need to meet P&L target but we suffer from physical drain out instead.

Maybe the grass is greener on the other side but I prefer shorter hours versus the gruelling hours I had endured during my internship stint.

Again, corp fin appears to offer a higher base pay versus the treasury position. $2k difference (not including housing allowance). Will treasury compensate back in terms of total comp ? (i.e bonus). Thanks.

More inclined towards treasury for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
That you might receive from internet forums. Seems there are plenty of bad advice being dished out here but it was entertaining to see the kinds of questions being asked.
Do people actually know what Investment Banking is about? There are so many aspects of it and its actually more M&A. If you want to trade, the group you should look at is S&T. Its easier to get a sales job than a trading job. But if you're not good looking with impressive credentials, it is near impossible.

One of the early posters said its not about luck, well, that's not true. Alot of things in life are about luck. Being at the right place, at the right time and knowing how to seize the opportunity.