Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Really that bad for engineers?
View Single Post
Old 06-01-2012, 03:03 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
With all due respect, I am more interested in paying off my mortgage & bills than some nebulous “long term welfare of a nation” concept. My nation will not offer to help me pay my bills when I’m down. The fact that you need to resort to political polemics & emotive language of this sort reflects the lack of concrete evidence to support your cheerleading of the engineering field.

I have serious doubts on your assertion. 6 figure salary (I assume you are referring to100k to 200k range) is usually a AVP or junior VP in a banking/investment firm. Most people at this level are more like in their late 20s or early 30s, so they are likely to be earning higher than you by the time they reach your age.

First of all, I have no doubt you are very experienced in the engineering field, but you seriously need to have a better understanding of the banking/investment industry needs before pontificating on things you have little knowledge of. Generally, engineers are very much preferred because of their rational & sequential thinking as well as their ability to conceptualize complicated models in Math. This has nothing to do with whether you learn anything about Finance in school, Finance graduates enjoy very little advantage compared to an engineering grad if you ask me.

In fact, certain Finance majors like accounting are shun on because of the perception that they are too rigid and unable to visualize the numbers as it relates to the deal. I’m probably not explaining myself very well here, but engineers who have made the switch can probably help out.