Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - signing on in army(short term) vs working outside
Old 04-10-2011, 06:01 PM

I have problem with this kind of sweeping statements. This whole long post basically say that private sector sucks, will get retrenched and have to work like a cow while staying in the Army allows you to slack, take good money and have a lot of time to study.
In real life, everyone regardless in private or in Army got very different experience depending on your boss, the culture where you work and your colleagues. You can’t generalize like Private = Bad or Army = Good. For eg. If in some camp that kena some siao on OC/CO that always volunteer his Company or Battalion for some SAF CCA then you can forget about slacking and studying liao, likewise my friend last year win Toto whole camp assigned as part of NDP security, many late nights and weekends burn with no OT pay.
Although private sector got danger of retrenchment, it also allow you to switch jobs much more easily in case you don’t like the boss, company or work hours. If in the Army unit got issue, you are stuck there and very hard to request for transfer to another role or unit.

End of the day, both sides got pro & con, not a straight forward answer like some people say.
You are also making a sweeping statement that advice that seems like a sweeping statement isn't good advice. If everyone speaks or writes with lots of caveats and ifs and buts, then we all will sound like lawyers. Is this a sweeping statement?