Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Lawyer Salary
Thread: Lawyer Salary
View Single Post
Old 04-07-2018, 02:50 PM
Unregistered

This chatroom has veered really far off from its original purpose. What was supposed to be a proper salary discussion forum has quickly degenerated into a mudslinging arena where tired, overworked juniors with inflated egos come to flaunt their command of English and boast about their minuscule achievements. I hope to redirect your minds to what really matters here - money.

I am a US law firm associate. I started at a Big4 law firm 7 years ago, moved to an MC outfit 3 years ago and just recently upgraded to a white shoe firm. I have no knowledge regarding remuneration packages in midsize or small firms as I have no experience there.

When I jumped over from a certain Big4 as a Year 5 associate (SA year 2, hint hint), I was taking S$10,200, including front loading (its an effing scam).
The jump to an MC resulted in a temporary 2 year "demotion" back to associate but with no PQE cut. I went in at S$16,300 per month (pre-bonus).
With the move to a US white shoe firm, I now receive the most recently posted Milbank rate. Taking a slight PQE cut from the move, my basic pay sits at slightly above S$29,000 per month (pre-bonus). My peers who weren't cut are taking about S$34,000.

Yearly increments in SG Big4 are approx S$1,000 per month, and stagnate when you hit Year 7. Yearly increments in MC firms are approx S$2,000 per month. Yearly increments in white shoe firms are approximately US$2,000 per month, though some firms may scam or pressure you into accepting what is euphmistically referred to as a mid-Atlantic rate (another scam), which sits above the MC scale but below the full Milbank-Cravath scale.