Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Investments and Net Worth (https://forums.salary.sg/investments-net-worth/)
-   -   Whats your net worth (https://forums.salary.sg/investments-net-worth/817-whats-your-net-worth.html)

Unregistered 17-06-2013 05:19 PM

44, male, unemployed. Still looking for relevant work. Don't want to work as taxi driver or security guard as I am a graduate. Forced to resign due to office politics.
Own HDB flat, fully paid, now worth $800k.
Wife working, earning $4k a month.
What should I do now?
Should I swallow my pride and drive a cab? This would be very painful for me.
Or sell my HDB flat and buy a cheaper, smaller $300k flat so that I have about $400k to spend on? I need $2k a month to cover my family expense deficit or $12k a year. $400k can cover that deficit easily for 16 years. In 10 years, my kids would be independent and our expenses can be cut back significantly.
Any financial guru here to advise?

lazyplane 17-06-2013 06:42 PM

Instead of taxi driver or security guard or other blue collar work, can i check if you have done this since you are a grad :
1. Sign up with a few schools and do part time teaching. the daily rate is not too bad.

2. Similar to above, but go to tuition centers or reach out by getting your own students

3. If you really need to switch and retrain, consider to become medical worker. It is an "iron rice bowl" industry though the pay is not high.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 38752)
44, male, unemployed. Still looking for relevant work. Don't want to work as taxi driver or security guard as I am a graduate. Forced to resign due to office politics.
What should I do now?