Please Advise: First Time Job Seeking in Career Switch - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Please Advise: First Time Job Seeking in Career Switch

Old 18-06-2017, 12:24 PM

Audris is on a distinguished road
Default Please Advise: First Time Job Seeking in Career Switch

Hi everyone, would like to get some opinion as it's my first time searching for a job on my own. I've been under MOE for 5 years and have tendered hoping for a career switch to accounting. Currently taking private degree (DL) and expecting to grad by this year Nov/Dec. Able to commit for a new career from mid July onwards.

Willing to start from the bottom and commit long hours but how bottom should I set the limit?

1) What should be the salary I'm asking for during job hunt considering I have zero corporate accounting experience and yet to attain my private degree? Have only been exposed to very basic accounting duties during my career in MOE such as putting up budget and dealing with invoices on monthly basis. (Yes teachers do these on our own within the dept) Say last drawn was 2.7k, should I ask for 2.5k, 2.7k or even lower?