Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career Prospects for ACCA (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/912-career-prospects-acca.html)

Gunner Boy 23-05-2010 03:51 PM

Career Prospects for ACCA

Hi all,

I have an Engineering Degree in local uni and have 5 years experience in Engineering sector. I'm thinking of a mid-career switch to accountancy and taking an acc degree / ACCA.

What are my career prospects if I do so?? Should ACCA be the choice for me?

Unregistered 24-05-2010 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gunner Boy (Post 6008)
Hi all,

I have an Engineering Degree in local uni and have 5 years experience in Engineering sector. I'm thinking of a mid-career switch to accountancy and taking an acc degree / ACCA.

What are my career prospects if I do so?? Should ACCA be the choice for me?

I have not taken ACCA so am not sure about the syllabus. But I am sure it will take up at least a good 2-3 years in acheiving it.

A fresh graduate in a big four accountancy firm is only drawing 2+k but the yearly increment can be substantial like 400-800 per year. I am not sure if Big 4 will take you in, or offer you at what kind of level. A lot of hard work and I will only advise if it is your passion.

I think you should assess what skills you are good at - are you good with numbers, a detailed person, able to handle tight deadlines, work long hours? These are essential for accountancy.

As this is your mid-career switch, better make it right, there might not be many chances to switch careers. Talk to more people, network a bit, and dare to reach out (dont be Paiseh or shy to speak to friends' friend or even distant relatives)