Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Compare civil service salary

Old 18-02-2013, 11:14 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex View Post
Hey, sorry to sidetrack, but I need advice regarding employment at the Civil Service.

I am a final year student from SIM-UoL taking Bsc Economics. Secured 2nd Upper Honors, but expect to graduate with 1st Class (not trying to troll or boast, but I really studied hard and love the subject).

I am interested to work in finance, economics, trade and business-related ministries and statutory boards: EDB, MAS, Spring Singapore, IE Singapore, Ministry of Finance/Foreign Affairs/Defence.

Three Questions:

1. Do they hire SIM students (your existing colleagues) for Research, Policy, Planning or Finance-related roles?

2. Are there be certain departments that are "off limits" (be it official or unofficial) to private degree graduates?

3. Is it possible to become a scholar after joining the civil service?
1. No

2. Yes

3. Yes, but definitely not with SIM degree. Mid careers AOs are usually for people who futher their studies in top global universities.

In short if your goal is to be some high flier in CS, I would say forget it. With just a SIM cert, you will be lucky to even reach DD by 52 years old.

Old 18-02-2013, 01:35 PM

cslee is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex View Post
Hey, sorry to sidetrack, but I need advice regarding employment at the Civil Service.

I am a final year student from SIM-UoL taking Bsc Economics. Secured 2nd Upper Honors, but expect to graduate with 1st Class (not trying to troll or boast, but I really studied hard and love the subject).

I am interested to work in finance, economics, trade and business-related ministries and statutory boards: EDB, MAS, Spring Singapore, IE Singapore, Ministry of Finance/Foreign Affairs/Defence.