Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 05-02-2011 06:00 PM

I have never worked in civil service. I graduated from a local u with good honours.

I find it funny when career progression and salary increment is tagged to your degree. In my line, it is about how much you make for the company. If you bring in the business, you are handsomely rewarded. That is the excitement.

All said, of course, in civil service, you get an iron rice bowl. We have to meet our plan in order to keep our job. Well, no risk no gain as they say...

Unregistered 06-02-2011 04:00 PM

Hi Po Programme

Any one in civil service and currently in the hi-po programme? Am a civil servant and quite interested in this programme? Looking to seek some advice on how to get in the programme and gain insights into it =)

Unregistered 06-02-2011 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 9342)
Any one in civil service and currently in the hi-po programme? Am a civil servant and quite interested in this programme? Looking to seek some advice on how to get in the programme and gain insights into it =)

which ministry r u in?

i think having a good appraisal is a pre-requiste.
heard u need abt 1 or 2 yrs in service

Unregistered 06-02-2011 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 9342)

If you need to "look" to get into the programme then mostly likely you won't get into it.

Unregistered 06-02-2011 09:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 9329)
I have never worked in civil service. I graduated from a local u with good honours.

I find it funny when career progression and salary increment is tagged to your degree. In my line, it is about how much you make for the company. If you bring in the business, you are handsomely rewarded. That is the excitement.