Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 29-10-2015 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 74329)
Thanks for your replies.

That's quite disheartening to know, especially since I graduated with a second upper bachelor and was hoping my masters will bump my salary to first class. Looks like second upper with masters < first class :(

Oh well.....

Well to be honest, even if you have PhD, most public agencies would not pay you more because of that. Unless it is directly related to what they are doing, and that your role is a technical one which requires expert knowledge. Even then, a PhD entry salary would probably be around the same range of a fresh grad working for 2 - 3 years.

So overall, higher education are of not much use in public sector, unless you are being offered scholarship by them to pursue it.

Unregistered 29-10-2015 10:24 PM

Hello everyone! I am looking to join the civil service, and I wondering what salary I will be looking at. NUS 2nd upper, No NS. There is no grounds for salary nego for CS right?

Thanks in advance! :)

Unregistered 29-10-2015 10:58 PM

Would anyone consider 'downgrading' from MX11 to MX12 when switching agencies?

Unregistered (bryan) 01-11-2015 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 74194)
I joined in Mar 2014 and is receiving about $4870 now. 1st Class, male in NS.

Got a bit lucky, was able to get the wage adjustment and promoted with a B grading in the first year. Got a confirmation increment also.

Wow! Which stat board or ministry u in? What position?

Unregistered 01-11-2015 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (bryan) (Post 74479)
Wow! Which stat board or ministry u in? What position?