Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 24-01-2011 08:20 PM

Hi,

Can Bobo or anyone pls suggest how much should I be expecting if I join DSTA with 3.5 yrs of experience as a engineer in GLC (local MNC)?

I got 2nd lower honours(NTU). My current annual pay is abt $55000

Thanks.

bobo 24-01-2011 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 9104)
Hi,

Can Bobo or anyone pls suggest how much should i be expecting as a graduate with 3 yrs of experience as a financial analyst? Is S$42K per annum reasonable? My friend is telling me that i can earn more than this amt if i work in a govt dept, is this true?

Thanks.

You should be making more. Join a bank.

Unregistered 26-01-2011 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Meatos (Post 9055)
Here's my situation.

I graduated with a 2nd upper honors in 2003, and joined a ministry. Started at MX13, drew $3000.

Quit in January 2006, drawing $3320.

Joined a university, got $3600 but they don't have any 13th month bonus so it was actually a bit lower than what I got earlier.

Quit after 8 months,, joined a stat board in september 2006 as MX12. Starting pay there was $3300.

I've been there almost 4.5 years and I'm still MX12, drawing $4600. Have I been left behind? A lot of my peers who stayed at the ministry, or even those who left but joined another stat board, got promoted to MX11 2-3 years ago, and I'm not even getting a promotion this year either.

Don't think my performance is bad because every year I get a 2.5 month performance bonus (according to their hr letter 1.5 months is standard for good performance), but they just don't want to shift me up to MX11, and I'll be hitting the MX12 cap in about 2 years.

I am 34 by the way, so is $4600 high or low?