Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 21-01-2011 05:00 PM

Hospitall offer vs private firm

Hi, are public hospital considered civil service? I thought they are, since they r under the perview of MOH and headed by govt officials.

I have abt 12 yrs of working experience. But my degree (generic one) is from SIM though . I obtained it in yr 2003.

I am being offered an exe position (Max scheme), at 3.6k.

But at the same time, i have another offer at 4.8k as a manager at a private insurance firm.

I am in a fix because on one hand, hospital jobs r recession proof and have good bonus (3-4 mths, inculding PB, etc). If i dont do something stupid, i can be quite sure i can stay there till 65 yrs old.

But the career path is stagnant, slow and the job is, rather skewed towards civil mindset. Furthermore, being a SIM grad, i feel that i dun have any edge against the govt uni grads.

I also do not have any local poly certs, all privately taken, except O lvls.

I am 33, male.

I'd like the insurance firm (non-life), which enables me to display to the best of my abilities. But i also understand i am at the mercy of the firm when retremchment comes. However, the perks are: if i do well, i may be head hunted.

Any helpful comments?

Unregistered 21-01-2011 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 9022)
how old are you? or u born in which year , 1982 or 1981 or 1980??

born in year 1978

Unregistered 21-01-2011 05:01 PM

Hospital offer vs private firm

Hi, are public hospital considered civil service? I thought they are, since they r under the perview of MOH and headed by govt officials.

I have abt 12 yrs of working experience. But my degree (generic one) is from SIM though . I obtained it in yr 2003.