Compare civil service salary - Page 447 - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Compare civil service salary

Old 02-01-2015, 01:13 PM
Unregistered

Hi guys, I'm male, turning 27 this year, and a local uni grad with second upper honours. I'm currently employed in a niche role in a private company. Work exp around 1 year plus (I graduated in 2013).

I'm thinking of taking a year off work to study for a masters degree, out of personal interest, and also hopefully to open more job opportunities outside my niche field. I eventually hope to join a ministry/sb because I'm not very ambitious and I'm ok with a stable salary and work life balance.

But I'm afraid I will be seen as too overqualified to take on entry level roles after my masters as my current work exp is very niche and if I join a ministry/sb I will probably be seen as a junior exec or fresh grad.

I don't mind taking bachelor's degree payscale but will they see that I have a masters and immediately thrash my application when I apply for bachelor-level jobs?

Old 02-01-2015, 01:56 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hi guys, I'm male, turning 27 this year, and a local uni grad with second upper honours. I'm currently employed in a niche role in a private company. Work exp around 1 year plus (I graduated in 2013).

I'm thinking of taking a year off work to study for a masters degree, out of personal interest, and also hopefully to open more job opportunities outside my niche field. I eventually hope to join a ministry/sb because I'm not very ambitious and I'm ok with a stable salary and work life balance.

But I'm afraid I will be seen as too overqualified to take on entry level roles after my masters as my current work exp is very niche and if I join a ministry/sb I will probably be seen as a junior exec or fresh grad.