Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Really that bad for engineers? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/866-really-bad-engineers.html)

Unregistered 19-03-2016 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 81622)
Hi guys, check with you all on something. I am mechanical engineer trained and mainly doing project management work in a construction company. Total experience is about 7 years since graduation.

Currently drawing 8.9k and I was just given a verbal offer of 11k by a company doing mainly engineering sales for specialized construction equipment. The offer is very tempting, but I have never done sales before and worried that if it doesn't work out, it will be quite hard to go back into project management.

Anyone has similar dilemma before? Any thoughts?

I say just take up the offer first. The increase is quite good and project management is a sought after skill in SG, so even if it doesn't work out you can still quote 11k as expected salary for another PM role.

Another thing to check is the bonus of the sales engineer job, what is the realistic bonus which you get if can meet all the sales targets.

Unregistered 22-03-2016 09:18 PM

I am currently intending to take up REP in NTU. What are the prospects of bachelor in engineering science and masters in techonology management. (Especially masters in techonology management what are the possible jobs and salary like ?)

Unregistered 23-03-2016 11:44 AM

hey guys, gonna go for an interview at REC Solar for the role of equipment engineer, and they also recommended me for manufacturing engineer. i remember reading somewhere around this forum that manufacturing engineer not much useful in future, and also for this coy, it requires shift work.