Old 04-09-2021, 12:26 AM

I don’t eat much. I eat twice per day.
Food $10 per day ($300 pm), insurance $400 pm, utilities $150 pm. No mortgage, no debt.
The rest are for my other miscellaneous expenses. I’m a simple guy who loves to be alone. I like to spend my time reading. My CPF Life will give me $2k pm, this is a lot for my simple lifestyle. I don’t go out and spend unnecessarily. $300k is more than I need to last for 10 years. If I really need the money, I can downgrade further. Buy the HDB studio unit for seniors.
Sounds like a real miserable existence. Glad I don't live like you

Old 04-09-2021, 12:28 AM

Hawker Centre food affordable and nice btw

Old 04-09-2021, 07:14 AM

“Miserable” is relative. I’m happy with a simple lifestyle.

What I find miserable is having to work for another 10 years, day in and day out.

A fulfilling life need not be expensive. I find great joy reading, going to the library, exercising at the park every morning enjoying the fresh air. Life is short.

The other day I read a news about someone who died in the 60s, hardly had time to enjoy a good retirement. I don’t want that. Anyway I have the means to retire even though it may seem miserable to some. To me it’s great. It’s all about what you value in life. I value free time a million time more than the extra dollar I could earn. It’s my choice.

Old 04-09-2021, 07:48 AM

Lightbulb

What I find miserable is having to work for another 10 years, day in and day out.

A fulfilling life need not be expensive. I find great joy reading, going to the library, exercising at the park every morning enjoying the fresh air. Life is short.

The other day I read a news about someone who died in the 60s, hardly had time to enjoy a good retirement. I don’t want that. Anyway I have the means to retire even though it may seem miserable to some. To me it’s great. It’s all about what you value in life. I value free time a million time more than the extra dollar I could earn. It’s my choice.
Don't think you are miserable. Happiness comes from simple things in life.
People chase after money by working harder to maintain high lifestyles.
Old 04-09-2021, 08:58 AM

Don't think you are miserable. Happiness comes from simple things in life.
People chase after money by working harder to maintain high lifestyles.
Some of them suddenly died before enjoying a single day of retirement. This is the most miserable situation. All the millions go to the wife and kids who will enjoy and retire early.
Old 04-09-2021, 10:37 AM

What you gonna do with all that free time?

Old 04-09-2021, 11:39 AM

As someone in my mid-30s just earning 7k/month (not high but enough to live quite comfortably), I find it hard to wrap my head around these numbers. 240k SGD/annum for a lawyer is low? So the median for a typical lawyer in mid 30s would be maybe 400k/annum?
No wonder condo prices are all soaring...

yo
Can't speak as to bankers, but am a lawyer so can comment. Shall only talk about private practice because inhouse is just like being a salaried employee liao.

The average local law grad gets called to the bar as a 26 y/o for men, 24 y/o for girls. So by 35 they're 9-11 PQE. At that point, a small - mid sized firm lawyer would be an equity partner. Your comp can range from 20k - 40k monthly depending on how many files you bring in / your compensation agreement.

If you're in a big firm or managed to make it to an international firm, you would be drawing 20k/month by 5-7 PQE. At 9-11 PQE, you might be a junior partner with some level of equity (if you stay in a big 4 firm) which would place your comp somewhere around 30-50k, or a senior associate / junior partner in an international firm which would you put you around 500-700k annually.

The point is, 240k SGD for a lawyer at 35 is really low. This would be an average lawyer though i.e. at least 2nd upper. I dont account for the morons who fail to get even that.
Old 04-09-2021, 01:43 PM

As someone in my mid-30s just earning 7k/month (not high but enough to live quite comfortably), I find it hard to wrap my head around these numbers. 240k SGD/annum for a lawyer is low? So the median for a typical lawyer in mid 30s would be maybe 400k/annum?
No wonder condo prices are all soaring...
It’s a lie. Above average for private practice law maybe then 240k at 35. Then again, not everyone makes it as a lawyer, practice privately (esp Corp law), and is above average in that league.
Old 04-09-2021, 02:26 PM

Eating too much hawker food will ironically shorten your lifespan. That stuff is unhealthy as heck man.
Old 04-09-2021, 04:18 PM

28y/o
Starting work in 2015
Savings $50k
Invested $50k

Prev Salary: $6900 pm gross
Now: $8000pm gross

Works in tech startup.
Would have more saving if didn’t lose $ to ICO scam. Lol.