Old 01-07-2014, 05:54 PM

Default Cars

We are a mid 40s professional couple making a combined income of $205k pa. Like many professionals like us, we live in a luxury condo, which is paid up. Like many other professionals, we chose a big, luxury continental car as our family car, which is paid up too.
I don't understand why people feel the need to drive big luxury continental cars. Car prices in Singapore are absurd and doubly so when you consider that coes last for only ten years. We make more than 500k combined but our family drives a japanese car

Old 01-07-2014, 06:59 PM

Default Im lost

Im so impressed by how all of you are earning over 100k per annum!? im just a diploma graduate and going for a degree in SIT, whats your thoughts and advices on it as some of you here are really experienced it seems and doing well

Help me out here,im scared and kinda in need of advices.What would you tell the kid whos about to get into the working industry? btw im 22 since i just did my NS

Old 01-07-2014, 09:26 PM

Ok, this is the 125th time this type of posting has appeared here. Is it the same guy that keeps posting these?

"so and so got so much savings. we stay in big luxury condo. when we retire we will downgrade to some small apartment. we will invest the savings for retirement. make sure don't womanize/drink/smoke. we will exercise to keep fit and travel the world "

anyone else bored of this chap/crap ?
Bored for sure, but these jokers quite entertaining also leh. This one not so bad liao, got another one who things the world revolve around him. Lagi worse!

Old 01-07-2014, 11:09 PM

you forgot that he plans to sell his said condo in X years and retire in Chang Mai/KL/Johor/Phuket like a king.

and usually he will pat himself on the back by replying that good job, you are a successful person and can retire comfortably.

thank you HDB/govt for making it a dream.

very entertaining!
Old 01-07-2014, 11:49 PM

Middle income family, 145k pa.
Condo worth 1.1m, 250k loan.
Total net worth, 2.4m.
Old 02-07-2014, 12:01 AM

Im so impressed by how all of you are earning over 100k per annum!? im just a diploma graduate and going for a degree in SIT, whats your thoughts and advices on it as some of you here are really experienced it seems and doing well

Help me out here,im scared and kinda in need of advices.What would you tell the kid whos about to get into the working industry? btw im 22 since i just did my NS
Kid, don't learn to see fear, learn to be positive about your future. Always give your 100% in everything you do. All the uncles here are retiring soon, making way for the younger generation like you, also leaving the opportunity behind to you.

Don't worry too much.

Old 02-07-2014, 07:45 AM

Could not agree more. Also dont be too impatient to get rich. The uncles may be boasting their wealth now, but what you may not be aware is the many years (20 to 35 years) of hard work, savings and investing to get where they are.

When I started after graduation, I did not and cannot ever imagine I would smell a $1m, but smell them I did. Of course, inflation "helped" to make that $m smaller and therefore easier to achieve.

Kid, don't learn to see fear, learn to be positive about your future. Always give your 100% in everything you do. All the uncles here are retiring soon, making way for the younger generation like you, also leaving the opportunity behind to you.

Don't worry too much.
Old 02-07-2014, 09:00 AM
Millionaire Member

Hermit is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by fresh grad View Post
25 yo fresh grad, served ns, not working yet but has a job waiting at family business.

no loans, drive family car.

received graduation gift of a condo unit worth over 2m in market value. guess i can retire already?
If you think like that, you are pretty much screwed.
Old 02-07-2014, 09:02 AM
Millionaire Member

Hermit is on a distinguished road

The posters here are not a good sampling of the average Singaporean. You do not have to benchmark yourself against them.
Old 02-07-2014, 09:14 AM

Average Singaporean working couple with 2 teenage children, total income of only 160k pa.

Our lives are rather average.

We live in a typical average Singaporean home, a suburban condo. We cannot afford an Orchard condo.

We drive a typical average Singaporean car, a Japanese car. We cannot afford a German car.

We go to holidays to destination like Australia and Korea. We cannot afford Europe or US.

But we feel lucky that we can still own a condo, drive a car and go holidays. We are the typical happy average Singaporean.