Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

How much are you earning per annum?

Old 01-11-2013, 09:43 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
what are you doing to make so much at your age? sales? ppty agent?
i am an underpaid lawyer

Old 01-11-2013, 10:41 AM
Unregistered

Downgrading as a retirement plan makes perfect sense. Most people work their whole life to finance their home mortgage and when they retire, their home becomes their main asset. Since many don't have much other assets as most of their salary goes to daily expenses, insurance and paying the mortgage, they will have to downgrade in order to get cash for their retirement expenses. A couple living in a landed may downgrade to a condo, a couple living in a big condo may downgrade to a small condo, a couple living in a condo may downgrade to a HDB flat, etc. Those who are lucky enough to earn a lot and not get retrenched in their 40s may afford to keep their home and have spare cash for retirement.

I'm now 53 and plan to retire at 60. My penthouse is now worth $2.5m and I plan to sell it at $3m when I retire. I will then downgrade to a $1m one bedroom condo (must be next to an MRT station for convenience) and invest the balance $2m. Assuming I can generate a modest 4% dividend yield, I will get about $80k pa in passive income. This should be sufficient for me and wife.

Quote:
Many tend to focus on how to 'buy' their dream home (be it a C or a landed) but pay little attention to figure out how to 'own' it. Remember you don't own it if you leverage.

So, downgrading becomes part of the retirement plan. In my view, downgrading is Plan B.
Plan A should focus on working on both the balance sheet and cashflow of finances.