Help wat should I do? - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Help wat should I do?

Old 21-09-2009, 08:29 PM

k6996 is on a distinguished road
Default Help wat should I do?

I graduated from SIM UOL with a mgmt degree in 2007 June and till now I cannot get a proper job, I have work as a clerk in a family own biz and also a temp at a local bank. I have tried to apply directly to banks and FI. I have tried to get agents, I have also tried to ask for help from friends working in banks but since most of my friends dont work for FI I have little network availble.

I really wanted to go to investment management and has been applying for banking jobs ever since i graduated but no luck. I have passed lvl 2 of the CFA exam and is about to sign for lvl 3 next year.

The options availble to me are as follow
1. Keep trying for investment mgmt or investment banking related job
2. Remove my CFA qualifications and apply for any job in the bank (including admin assistant and operations support) and try to gain connections in the field, once I cleared all the exam then venture into investment mgmt
3. Join AIA and prudential (ok this is out of the question)
4. Become a stock broker (I can consider but I have no network to get clients)

What are your advise?
also a sideline question If I enter into operations in a bank would it be difficult to switch to investment mgmt or investment banking later?

Old 21-09-2009, 10:36 PM
Unregistered