Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   How is life as a doctor in Singapore? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/793-how-life-doctor-singapore.html)

Unregistered 05-05-2010 09:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UK Cons (Post 5836)
I have been an NHS consultant psychiatrist for almost 3 years and am thinking of taking a sabbatical in Singapore working in the public health system for a year or so. I wonder what the experience is like for the transition from the NHS to Singapore's health service.

I think the pay is variable and negotiable. However, is this offered up front and has the process of moving and tansferring your skills been a problem.

I wonder if there are any language issues in Singapore. Do people access healthcare in Mandarin or in English? Taking a psychiatric history in mandarin would be a kin to a comedy sketch.

Many thanks for anyone who is able to offer any advice.

Most patients in Singapore, except the older ones, can speak reasonable English. And there are even local doctors who speak only English (they grow up in an English-only environment but their accent is very asian).

Unregistered 09-05-2010 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by confused.com (Post 5302)
Very interested to read the remarks above - I am a Consultant in the UK since last 2.5 years.I have recently been tempted by Singapore consultant jobs - mainly the weather (!) and the fact that it is in Asia ( I'm Indian).Also thought it would be nice to bring kids up in cosmopolitan environment.
Is this the truth? Does life not get better as doctors progress up the ladder? Are the earnings not comfortable enough as a Consultant to not need locum work and to live comfortably?

Life does get easier when you are a consultant, well... depending on the institution you happen to be in and the presence of tyrants etc etc.

admin 30-05-2010 01:09 PM

See also the comments at: