How is life as a doctor in Singapore?

Old 23-10-2021, 06:54 PM

Hey seniors, is it worth it to study medicine (as a prospective student)?
Tbh it is worth it.

Damn worth it. Coz even a gp earns 10k. (Like 4-5 day work week)
Granted u put 300k as initial investment.
But confirm minimum income 10k after 5 years.
Ya ho and mo life pay no good.

But u must consider.
U go study law also 200k. But may not be 10k after 5 years.
In fact may not get traineeship positions. Then lan lan become teacher or admin.

Yes u can be some big shot ceo if u study biz but u can also be ceo if u study med.
Think raffles medical ceo.

Bottom line if u are good, then whatever u study doesnt matter. Coz u will make it big anyway

If you are no good, then med is safe and guarantee minimum 10k

Old 23-10-2021, 08:26 PM

Just wondering is anyone interested be a VC or business partner. I have a really good venture idea actually regarding telemedicine and hope to find like minded people to partner with to make it work. Capital roughly 50-250k depending on how many partners we can find.

Old 23-10-2021, 09:05 PM

Just wondering is anyone interested be a VC or business partner. I have a really good venture idea actually regarding telemedicine and hope to find like minded people to partner with to make it work. Capital roughly 50-250k depending on how many partners we can find.

Salary of 10k per month for min 25 hours of work per week + 50% commission of receipts.
Can pm me

Old 24-10-2021, 07:08 AM

Tbh it is worth it.

Damn worth it. Coz even a gp earns 10k. (Like 4-5 day work week)
Granted u put 300k as initial investment.
But confirm minimum income 10k after 5 years.
Ya ho and mo life pay no good.

But u must consider.
U go study law also 200k. But may not be 10k after 5 years.
In fact may not get traineeship positions. Then lan lan become teacher or admin.

Yes u can be some big shot ceo if u study biz but u can also be ceo if u study med.
Think raffles medical ceo.

Bottom line if u are good, then whatever u study doesnt matter. Coz u will make it big anyway

If you are no good, then med is safe and guarantee minimum 10k
This is a troll post with so many assumptions that the writer is confirmed not a doctor, or at least a very junior one shiitposting.
There are so many barriers to entry to studying medicine in the first place (as a local, not a FT doc who can easily get into med schools in their home countries and then jump to practice in a first tier country), that if you have the smarts and gumption for medicine, you could do a whole lot better in IT/tech, finance and a myriad other careers with less sweat and tears. My JC classmate is a FAANG CS engineer in her late twenties/early thirties with easily 200-300k per annum working from home (9am start in bed and no 6am rounds), and she said her boss just a few years older is on 500k.
Only do medicine if you like suffering and helping those in need.
Old 24-10-2021, 11:30 AM

This is a troll post with so many assumptions that the writer is confirmed not a doctor, or at least a very junior one shiitposting.
There are so many barriers to entry to studying medicine in the first place (as a local, not a FT doc who can easily get into med schools in their home countries and then jump to practice in a first tier country), that if you have the smarts and gumption for medicine, you could do a whole lot better in IT/tech, finance and a myriad other careers with less sweat and tears. My JC classmate is a FAANG CS engineer in her late twenties/early thirties with easily 200-300k per annum working from home (9am start in bed and no 6am rounds), and she said her boss just a few years older is on 500k.
you the real troll.
faang 500k pa. haha ,9 am start in bed? haha
my wife in a faang like job mid level 150k pa already replying email 24 hours a day.
her workgroup chat have 80000 unread messages.

less sweats and tears? she stress eat, gets really moody and constantly frowning. sometimes I get home at 6 plus she in meeting till 8pm. I went out jog, do the laundry , iron clothes then cool Maggi mee for her , she eat Liao go back type email and do PowerPoint.

I finish training now and work mostly 8 to 5. I dun bring work home. yeah, I'm not some highly trained specialist just a lowly polyclinic doctor but I make close to 200k pa. work hard during hours...but after work I just slack and Netflix lei.
we both felt that yes , maybe doc in future wil not be like doc from 30 years ago can buy gcb, but having a professional skillset , u iron rice bowl and have a life for other things.

haha, 500k job wake up at 9am. sure. bruff chewren
Old 24-10-2021, 12:53 PM

I finish training now and work mostly 8 to 5. I dun bring work home. yeah, I'm not some highly trained specialist just a lowly polyclinic doctor but I make close to 200k pa. work hard during hours...but after work I just slack and Netflix lei.
we both felt that yes , maybe doc in future wil not be like doc from 30 years ago can buy gcb, but having a professional skillset , u iron rice bowl and have a life for other things.
I think the keyword is you are just a lowly polyclinic doctor, which is why you do not have the responsibilities and KPIs that us specialists and higher ups do as we progress in our careers. Many of my medical peers with kids would advise them to choose an alternative career to medicine knowing what the reality is like now. For the students audience, the world is your oyster if you graduate with top IB or A levels scores, do not limit yourself to just medicine/dentistry.
I do not know how old you the previous writer are but you need to compare apples to apples, and recognise that your wife may not be in the same league as my JC friend if she is working that hard for that level of pay.

Old 24-10-2021, 01:39 PM

Come on lah med sch so easy to enter
My time nus 250 places.

Now 300. Plus ntu another 150. Plus dukies 80.

Shoo in for aussie and uk schs if u got the money.

(Of course exceptions are oxbridge but the rest really just $$)
Old 24-10-2021, 01:56 PM

I think the keyword is you are just a lowly polyclinic doctor, which is why you do not have the responsibilities and KPIs that us specialists and higher ups do as we progress in our careers. Many of my medical peers with kids would advise them to choose an alternative career to medicine knowing what the reality is like now. For the students audience, the world is your oyster if you graduate with top IB or A levels scores, do not limit yourself to just medicine/dentistry.
I do not know how old you the previous writer are but you need to compare apples to apples, and recognise that your wife may not be in the same league as my JC friend if she is working that hard for that level of pay.
lol, troll ++.
Old 24-10-2021, 02:01 PM

The equation is

1) if u are average to lousy (can study, but not particularly driven or high eq or cut out for biz)
2) can get into med school
3) sort of like patienf care
U shld choose med school.

Coz the runumeration is quite decent
Old 24-10-2021, 02:23 PM

you the real troll.
faang 500k pa. haha ,9 am start in bed? haha
my wife in a faang like job mid level 150k pa already replying email 24 hours a day.
her workgroup chat have 80000 unread messages.

less sweats and tears? she stress eat, gets really moody and constantly frowning. sometimes I get home at 6 plus she in meeting till 8pm. I went out jog, do the laundry , iron clothes then cool Maggi mee for her , she eat Liao go back type email and do PowerPoint.

haha, 500k job wake up at 9am. sure. bruff chewren

Hi, i’m a local medical student, currently in y1. Did u study in a local medical school and were you bonded? How many years did you spend training before you eventually settled down as a polyclinic doctor? Is it hard to become a polyclinic doctor and do u have any regrets not specialising