Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Lawyer Salary

Old 01-02-2022, 11:33 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Oh please. He just was bragging about himself. His class of honours is irrelevant to the discussion. That’s like saying a non FCH won’t know a brilliant person when they see one. And if his point is “well, I’m such a brilliant person”, I’m not sure his humblebrag comes close to the praise he is endowing upon himself.
I’m a medicine student and this is hilarious.
People do well = bragging??

Old 01-02-2022, 11:41 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
I’m a medicine student and this is hilarious.
People do well = bragging??
Yes of course medical students lurk here and comment. Entirely believable.

Old 01-02-2022, 12:09 PM
Unregistered

Hi, this is prolly an uncommon question but hoping for insights from any corp/transactional lawyers who've successfully transited from in-house back to private practice.

Some background : corp associate in a non-B4/mid-tier firm and went in-house at around the 4th year mark. My current (and only) in-house role is in a local listco where I've been for slightly > 2 years.

Rn, I'm seriously contemplating a return to pvt practice, preferably in a B4 or a strong mid tier corp team. For personal reasons, a return to my old firm isn't in the cards for me.

My questions are:

1. How willing are B4 or strong corp law firms take in someone of my profile (as compared to lateral hires who have been in private prac all the while)? Does my 2+ years in-house exp confer any advantage at all compared to other candidates?

2. Since B4 and most large firms have a rigid track to JP, where would I fit along the rung towards JP? How much of an 'internal' pqe discount should I expect? Most of my peers still in private practice are at the cusp of JP within the next 1 to 2 years.