Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Lawyer Salary

Old 09-10-2017, 08:42 PM
Unregistered

Arrow

US UK Firms are outliers then

So lets stick to local firms. What are the retention rate? Salary? And do firms pay for Part B? What is allowance during Part B and TC period? What is salary for fresh associates?
Should I am for a mid-sized but high retention rate or big size for the name?

My interests are in corporate commercial law area. I heard this is the only way to earn money compared to doing family/criminal law where most people would not do at all because of low pay. Is this true?

Thanks and I am a first year student in a local university.

Old 10-10-2017, 08:54 AM
Unregistered

TC: $500 - $2000 per month. Generally the average is $1500.

Part b: Allowance: $200- 400 per month - Generally on average not everyone gets allowance, it is subject to your contract.

Fees for part B: usually pay yourself. However, some firms do pay if associates get retained and stayed for a longer period of 1 or 2 years. I believe this is quite rare, but I did get offered this, but did not stay on with the firm.

Filing fees to be called to the bar, most likely yes, cost is about SGD 1000. Almost everyone I know including myself was able to claim this amount.

I personally feel corporate/commercial law does earn more money. However, if you are not partner and you are not getting a cut of the profits (which associates do not get in the first few years of practice), then do whatever law that you interested or do whatever good offer that comes by, since its hard to get a job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post

So lets stick to local firms. What are the retention rate? Salary? And do firms pay for Part B? What is allowance during Part B and TC period? What is salary for fresh associates?