|
|
09-12-2024, 05:32 PM
|
|
Originally Posted by Unregistered
Not happy then don’t do lo… nobody forcing you also. Otherwise, it’s the rules you choose to play with and unless you have the means to change the system, isn’t this just pointless yapping?
Idealistic, but what do you have to back up your idealism
|
Have you not read Voice, Exit, and Loyalty? Isn’t “voice” precisely what is needed to incite change in the rules? A special announcement was made after examinations today precisely bc of the “yapping” you know. How about you relocate to North Korea? You certainly don’t seem to value the “voice” you use when voting in SG.
Is this the level of logical reasoning in the profession? No wonder we have to suffer a stricter bar examination. The standards have clearly been too lax in your generation.
|
09-12-2024, 05:41 PM
|
|
Not to be totally dismissive of your concerns, but the other 2 courses that you're referring to, are "Ethics in Practice" and "LP (Solicitors' Accounts) Rules" .
During my time they were like 1(ish?)-day workshops, conducted pretty much on par with the depth of those brainless CPD events that people attend to clock annual CPD points, except with some assessments. Don't think the format has changed significantly. They've been long-standing requirements for AAS admission for decades now.
I remember our TC firms paying for these courses and cost was totally not a concern. Couple of bucks at most. In fact, the attendance and/or fulfilment of these courses were the last things on my mind.
So it's not like these are 2 new courses that have been suddenly foisted as requirements on your batch of trainees, contrary to your characterisation.
That said, I think your concerns re the advocacy course, are valid.
|
Oh! Thank you for the clarification! That helps. Pity it wasn’t clarified by those in charge way in advance though.
|
09-12-2024, 08:39 PM
|
|
Have you not read Voice, Exit, and Loyalty? Isn’t “voice” precisely what is needed to incite change in the rules? A special announcement was made after examinations today precisely bc of the “yapping” you know. How about you relocate to North Korea? You certainly don’t seem to value the “voice” you use when voting in SG.
Is this the level of logical reasoning in the profession? No wonder we have to suffer a stricter bar examination. The standards have clearly been too lax in your generation.
|
Maybe you will suffer less if you studied harder instead of surfing salary.sg where the forum is made up of shitposter law students
|
09-12-2024, 10:55 PM
|
|
Maybe you will suffer less if you studied harder instead of surfing salary.sg where the forum is made up of shitposter law students
|
Wut? Studying is the suffering, dummy.
|
10-12-2024, 10:04 AM
|
|
I don’t understand what all the fuss is about. We all went through the same courses as you are required to. You will attend the other two courses once you start your Practice Training, just like all of us who took Part B before you (it costs around $300–$600 for both courses, if I recall correctly). Sure you can complain that this year's Part B is harder, as far as I am know, none of the 2024 NQs in my firm failed Part B the first time round as compared to yesteryears under the old syllabus.
On the issue of fees, contrary to what some people are claiming, the $1,000 advocacy course is not a money grab. Didn’t it occur to you that the Part B course fees were $1,000 cheaper this year? The fees for these courses will be reimbursed by your respective firms once you finish your TC , if not, you should be querying why are you with a firm that does not do so in the first place.
Sure, you could argue that this isn’t the ideal time to spring such a surprise, especially during a high-stress period. But guess what? This kind of thing happens all the time once you’re in practice. Are you guys going to raise your pitchforks baying for your partners and clients' blood every time a spanner is thrown in the works?
|
The last argument is complete dross.
Drawing an analogy between the circumstances relating to the bar course and practice is not even logical. For one, clients are paying us good money to handle the stress - it is literally our job. A student's job is to pass his / her exams, not necessarily deal with last minute changes in the course curriculum. No one is paying a student to handle stress.
In any event, even in practice, if there's a fire drill due to a client's own sloppiness, I'd have every right to get pissed - this isn't raising a pitchfork per se. Lawyers are human and we aren't magicians or robots.
|
10-12-2024, 12:28 PM
|
|
1st point:
Want to play the game, want to get the prize, then you put up with the rules of the game however inane
The rules change every now and then, 200 years ago only those who were admitted to practise in E&W could be admitted in SG and you had to pay pupil masters for the privilege of them training you
2nd point:
Don't see how your opinion on the rules of the game is relevant or necessary
Either do it and become a lawyer, or don't, nobody's forcing you to do any of this at gunpoint
3rd point:
Don't talk like as though we will sorely miss your invaluable contributions to the profession and jurisprudence, of which the sum total to date has been p*ssing and moaning anonymously about how hard it is to get called
You're in this for yourself, to borrow from the other sh*tposters in this thread, it's giving boomer shareholder kena pwned by Hyfl*x not happy wanna spam SPF and PMO etc energy
When times are good got money, all keep to yourself, but when sh*t goes sideways everyone must be conscripted into sharing your misery
4th point:
Talk about salary lah knn need to give angpao soon, who seriously gaf about ginna pi
|
10-12-2024, 07:18 PM
|
|
1st point:
Want to play the game, want to get the prize, then you put up with the rules of the game however inane
The rules change every now and then, 200 years ago only those who were admitted to practise in E&W could be admitted in SG and you had to pay pupil masters for the privilege of them training you
2nd point:
Don't see how your opinion on the rules of the game is relevant or necessary
Either do it and become a lawyer, or don't, nobody's forcing you to do any of this at gunpoint
3rd point:
Don't talk like as though we will sorely miss your invaluable contributions to the profession and jurisprudence, of which the sum total to date has been p*ssing and moaning anonymously about how hard it is to get called
You're in this for yourself, to borrow from the other sh*tposters in this thread, it's giving boomer shareholder kena pwned by Hyfl*x not happy wanna spam SPF and PMO etc energy
When times are good got money, all keep to yourself, but when sh*t goes sideways everyone must be conscripted into sharing your misery
4th point:
Talk about salary lah knn need to give angpao soon, who seriously gaf about ginna pi
|
Sir this is a Wendy’s
|
10-12-2024, 07:22 PM
|
|
Is this thread populated mostly by law students and non lawyers?
Why aren't people discussing salaries. I thought local law firms' payscales are very non-transparent unlike in other jurisdictions.
So why are people always jerking off here with inane squabbling?
|
10-12-2024, 08:05 PM
|
|
Why aren't people discussing salaries. I thought local law firms' payscales are very non-transparent unlike in other jurisdictions.
|
That's how this forum is, it's not strictly about salaries; peripheral topics like industry news gets raised from time to time.
If you have a salary or career question, just ask. If there is anyone here who is actually in the know, is comfortable sharing, and isn't just spouting nonsense, they will answer.
There will always be others who use this forum as an outlet to condescend, argue, and pick petty fights for the sake of it. It's a bit of a weird outlet, but their actions speak for themselves. So you know they're not worth engaging with.
|
10-12-2024, 09:15 PM
|
|
|
People love to be right, love to be smart, love to argue. Lawyers, wannabe lawyers, and lawyers to-be, doubly so.
|
|
|