Lawyer Salary

Old 15-11-2022, 03:36 PM

WW not a judge, don't have to study his judgments. Not your client either... carry his balls for fug. As a lawyer you want him in your team naysayer this that meh and lord over the partners cos he's the ex-AG. big fug says nothing about his ability to bill. piss off the Gov the first one to get shoved out of the door is u
Singapore AG has no professional code of conduct? How come there is so many extra-judicial comments emanating from WW? He seems like those old geezers at coffeeshops in his batik shirt, wayanging everywhere. Wades into the political sphere and pronouncing his judgmental thoughts about Singapore and the rest of the world like a news media commentator. Triggerhappy newsites are more than happy to lap up his verbiage, and you know WW likes the publicity and attention. You know what is judicial independence? Judicial independence is not, more power and clout to unelected officials like him over the Government...Judicial independence is: judicial restraint, and focusing on his job at hand (prosecutions). Most Attorney Generals in the developed world are ex-judges or ex-politicians, having proven their mettle. Walter Woon is neither here or there. WW is more of an artificial installation than others, and he knows it.

Most importantly, AGs in the West know to keep quiet on unrelated matters to their jobs, especially thorny sociopolitical issues, that should be under the purview of elected politicians.

Old 15-11-2022, 11:35 PM

Singapore AG has no professional code of conduct? How come there is so many extra-judicial comments emanating from WW? He seems like those old geezers at coffeeshops in his batik shirt, wayanging everywhere. Wades into the political sphere and pronouncing his judgmental thoughts about Singapore and the rest of the world like a news media commentator. Triggerhappy newsites are more than happy to lap up his verbiage, and you know WW likes the publicity and attention. You know what is judicial independence? Judicial independence is not, more power and clout to unelected officials like him over the Government...Judicial independence is: judicial restraint, and focusing on his job at hand (prosecutions). Most Attorney Generals in the developed world are ex-judges or ex-politicians, having proven their mettle. Walter Woon is neither here or there. WW is more of an artificial installation than others, and he knows it.

Most importantly, AGs in the West know to keep quiet on unrelated matters to their jobs, especially thorny sociopolitical issues, that should be under the purview of elected politicians.
Lanjiao lah. I swear all the post bashing WW is from same person. He fail your exam siboh? If you buay gan, just say so.

Old 16-11-2022, 08:27 AM

Wink

Your double dealing is getting found out, Mr Disloyal Ex-AG

Old 16-11-2022, 11:37 AM

Lanjiao lah. I swear all the post bashing WW is from same person. He fail your exam siboh? If you buay gan, just say so.
What makes this so funny is the ridiculously high possibility of it being true. Lol.
Old 16-11-2022, 01:15 PM

Kukujiao, why is TOC serving an exAG WW with platitudes, but bashing up our current AG? Shouldn't senpai teach his juniors?
Old 16-11-2022, 04:00 PM

What makes this so funny is the ridiculously high possibility of it being true. Lol.
Lol if you fail company law once, it is understandable as it is meant to be difficult.

But if you fail company law 5-6 times like a few of my peers, it is not wrong in thinking you don't deserve to be a lawyer

Old 16-11-2022, 04:24 PM

Any thoughts on Google $392 million settlement for location-tracking made to the coalition of 40 State Attorney Generals?
Old 17-11-2022, 08:41 AM

Lol if you fail company law once, it is understandable as it is meant to be difficult.

But if you fail company law 5-6 times like a few of my peers, it is not wrong in thinking you don't deserve to be a lawyer
How is that even possible? Then again universities (local and foreign) generally don't wanna fail people. Too much admin work to justify failing anyone.
Old 17-11-2022, 09:56 AM

How is that even possible? Then again universities (local and foreign) generally don't wanna fail people. Too much admin work to justify failing anyone.
The bar to pass the Bar in SG is pretty low, but its meant to test a baseline level of legal knowledge and reasoning. The absolute minimum.

If someone can't pass after more than 2 resits under normal conditions (e.g. no mental or physical illness, no emotional issues at the time of the Bar exams), I think they should get the hint that they aren't cut out to be a lawyer. Save the clients and colleagues some grief.

We're too used to the idea of taking tests to tick a box in Singapore. This is not like NS where they allow you to repeatedly re-take the stupid training safety "test" just so that u can pass, as a matter of formality.

I've actually seen more than a handful of dumb and technically unsound lawyers in practice. Not to be elitist, but these lawyers possess a few common traits (at the risk of generalization): (1) usually studied overseas in some lower-ranked law school in UK or Australia. (2) work in small firms. (3) work in less challenging practice areas like conveyancing or family. (4) did not fully pass all Bar exam subjects on the 1st try. (5) inability to grasp, or a gaping hole in the knowledge of, certain legal principles that one would expect a law school grad to know, or at least grasp conceptually even if they had never encountered such legal principles before.

They would not have made the cut in larger firms and more rigorous practice areas. But the lower end of Legal practice allows for a surprisingly wide range of lawyer competencies.
Old 17-11-2022, 10:26 AM

Relax guys, this forum is not for Walter Woon supporters to talk about how he passes/fails exam takers. Or for Walter Woon critics to critique his failures as an Attorney General/his activities for opposition parties.

Can we get back to salaries please?