Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Lawyer Salary

Old 18-08-2017, 05:14 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
you doubt? is based on feelings or statistics?

the above figures came from a casual chit chat with a senior lawyer who runs his own law firm during one of our short chat along the corridors / lift common area...

was as curious as the person enquiring... i'm an accountant btw, just wanna know how those peeps from the other side lives as my office bldg is surrounded by loads of law and audit firms.
to sum it up, if you are mediocre and graduated from a foreign uni (non ivy leagues), you are either going to have a hard time finding a job, or found a job that doesn't pay well (above $4k). if you do, i am happy for you and i'm not being sarcastic here.

Old 18-08-2017, 06:56 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
to sum it up, if you are mediocre and graduated from a foreign uni (non ivy leagues), you are either going to have a hard time finding a job, or found a job that doesn't pay well (above $4k). if you do, i am happy for you and i'm not being sarcastic here.
Ivy league is a weird phrase to describe the recognised foreign law schools...so I'm not sure u actually know much about the legal market.

I think the salary ranges have been done to death here. Midsized firms and big firms pay some of the highest graduate starting salaries in the local market excluding IB, and on par with top mgmt associate programmes.

As to what constitutes mid sized firms, that has been explained before here too. In general firms that have reputation in the market or sectors of the market. Go check out IFLR, legal 500, asialaw and chambers Asia Pacific. These are the things they don't teach u in law school.