Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Question about Risk Management Job (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/7089-question-about-risk-management-job.html)

fashynisty 13-04-2016 02:12 AM

Question about Risk Management Job

Hello everybody,

I am a fresh graduate with a degree in economics and finance looking for credit/market risk analysis position. But after searching for weeks, I realized they don't usually take fresh grad as a start.

I want to know is there any other job positions to take up first and learn the foundations of risk before breaking into the risk department in the future? Or any other ways to get into it. Hope you guys will be able to give some advices. Thank you very much.

Unregistered 13-04-2016 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fashynisty (Post 83414)
But after searching for weeks, I realized they don't usually take fresh grad as a start.

They do - you just aren't what they are looking for.

fashynisty 13-04-2016 02:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 83416)
They do - you just aren't what they are looking for.

U know about what other positions I could take up that will eventually lead up to risk management prospect in the future?

Unregistered 13-04-2016 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fashynisty (Post 83418)
U know about what other positions I could take up that will eventually lead up to risk management prospect in the future?

There are openings in Group Risk Management under most of the local/international graduate banking programmes. If you are familiar with risk modelling (Actuary) you should be looking at insurers. They are all out there you just need to find them.

Unregistered 13-04-2016 09:43 AM

Door want to do credit on the business side (front office) or on the risk mgt/quantitative side (middle office)?

Unregistered 13-04-2016 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fashynisty (Post 83414)