Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   How much can you save if I make 108K per year (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/6259-how-much-can-you-save-if-i-make-108k-per-year.html)

kelvinfrog 03-12-2015 10:53 AM

Yes, 108K is base salary plus bonuses

Unregistered 03-12-2015 10:57 AM

2500 rent - this is quite high an estimate, as single, I suggest you aim lower.
Go for a single room bedder 1st, when you get here, shop around for aprtments. I suggest google SPIO to rent apartments from SLA, you may be able to get apartments in a good part of town for less than 2k.

Also, you mention 108k is your gross and equivilant to USA? I tot usa pay is much higher.. may I ask what are you doing?
Position?

kelvinfrog 03-12-2015 11:18 AM

Thanks for your suggestion. I am a scientist. In US, your salary can vary a lot depending on where you live. I live in a small town and it only costs around 200K SDG to buy a 3-4 bedroom house and it costs 900-1100 SDG to rent a 1000ft two bedroom condo. But if I live in San Francisco or Washington DC, my salary would be considered as median or low median.

Unregistered 03-12-2015 11:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kelvinfrog (Post 76275)
Thanks, I am sure I will enjoy Singapore. I am in my late 30... I do plan to find a place near by my office and have a bus line go directly there. My office is not so near MRT; otherwise, I can live further and just travel by MRT. I might get a HUB instead since a two bedroom condo will cost about 3k and I am not sure I would want to pay that much. I know it is a pretty good salary and I think my saving will be similar to what I have been saving in the U.S since housing is much cheaper here despite the income tax is higher.