Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   How to start at a Bank! (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/5586-how-start-bank.html)

Unregistered 29-07-2015 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cassie (Post 70717)
Woah there! Don't pop a coronary, I swear you're getting more worked up over me, than I am getting worked up over online HR portals!
Well firstly I do somewhat know the bank structure (I have friends working in a few. Yes, I have asked them to refer me. No, it didn't work as HR rejects my application citing "No banking experience")
Anyways, regarding my lack of knowledge on AML, I do have to agree with you. I have zero knowledge on practical Anti Money Laundering. I do have, however, theoretical knowledge as I will listen to webinars (free ones, cos I'm cheap like that) and have done the online courses.
Now, you seem to have a clearer idea of the banking career path, so help me! What can I do to get into my dream job?
So far I have:
-Been applying for every AML/KYC job that appears on job boards and individual bank sites. (And other entry level bank jobs, since I want to cast a wider net after not getting replies for a long time)
-Pm-ed people on LinkedIn introducing myself and asking for a referral in :X (yea I know, creepy. Although no one replies, and rightly so hahaha! I mean I wouldn't if some random person asked me that)
-have not tried badgering the AML people on this forum yet though, I should go do it now :D

Any constructive suggestions will be appreciated, unconstructive ones won't appreciated that much, but hey! If it floats your boat

Hey, Cassie,

not from the banking industry but I really admire your great attitude with dealing with some unhelpful (and quite rude) posters here.

good luck with the job hunt! with your personality I'm sure you will go far.

and no i'm not a guy who's trying to get your number. i'm a girl too!

Cassie 29-07-2015 02:28 PM