Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Will I be Jobless as an Accountant? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/5238-will-i-jobless-accountant.html)

Jobs 03-05-2015 10:34 AM

Will I be Jobless as an Accountant?

I'm studying Accountancy in one of the local universities (NUS/NTU/SMU). I've recently heard a lot about how automation will displace lots of jobs in the future (with accountants being at high risk). The possibility of automation within accountancy extends from Controller to FP&A functions.

As a result, I'm getting increasingly worried about being jobless in the future. Furthermore, there are lots of supply of accountants into the job market every year. On the other hand, the government also wants to transform Singapore into a "Leading Global Accountancy Hub". Will the job market for accountancy' turn out to be those hyped-up jobs that soon faded away (e.g. semiconductor engineers)?

Appreciate all replies. Thanks!

Unregistered 03-05-2015 11:03 AM

yes you will be jobless

Unregistered 03-05-2015 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jobs (Post 66230)
I'm studying Accountancy in one of the local universities (NUS/NTU/SMU). I've recently heard a lot about how automation will displace lots of jobs in the future (with accountants being at high risk). The possibility of automation within accountancy extends from Controller to FP&A functions.

As a result, I'm getting increasingly worried about being jobless in the future. Furthermore, there are lots of supply of accountants into the job market every year. On the other hand, the government also wants to transform Singapore into a "Leading Global Accountancy Hub". Will the job market for accountancy' turn out to be those hyped-up jobs that soon faded away (e.g. semiconductor engineers)?

Appreciate all replies. Thanks!