Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Dilemma (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/5197-dilemma.html)

Theebee 18-04-2015 02:38 AM

Dilemma

Hi all,

I am a final year student studying overseas. I currently have 2 options:

(1) Management consulting with a big 4 in London

(2) Local Bank MA

I would like to hear your views. If possible, I would like to hear more about the exit opportunities from MC in Singapore and the consulting scene locally.

Thank you for your time

Unregistered 18-04-2015 09:42 AM

Without a doubt. Better prospects.

Unregistered 18-04-2015 11:54 AM

I'm also inclined to say the better option is MC with big 4.

In terms of exit ops elsewhere the big 4 name is more recognised globally compared to a local bank. However, if your long-term goal is to return home, it really depends on where you plan to end up - an MAP at a bank, if you were to spend some time in FO, may help you get into PE or a hedge fund. It is less likely for consultants to end up in PE than bankers though.

If you're Singaporean I wouldn't give up a chance to work for a couple of years in London.. all the best!

Unregistered 18-04-2015 01:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Theebee (Post 65605)
Hi all,

(2) Local Bank MA

I would like to hear your views. If possible, I would like to hear more about the exit opportunities from MC in Singapore and the consulting scene locally.

Thank you for your time

Depends on what you mean by big 4... If you are talking about the audit firms, then I would say 50-50 about the same prospect as local bank MA. If you mean MBB type then of course option 1 better.

Unregistered 18-04-2015 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 65614)
Depends on what you mean by big 4... If you are talking about the audit firms, then I would say 50-50 about the same prospect as local bank MA. If you mean MBB type then of course option 1 better.