what happens in your 40s / 50s - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

what happens in your 40s / 50s

Old 15-10-2014, 11:49 AM

quek is on a distinguished road
Default what happens in your 40s / 50s

I'll be hitting the big 4-O very soon. As I'm just a middle manager, I think I may have already hit a plateau in my career.

I have some questions which I constantly worry about:

1. Is it much harder to switch jobs in your 40s-50s? What do the older people usually do if they are unhappy with their current job and/or the company situation becomes unfavourable?

2. Will the salary hit a certain level and stay there? My older friends seem to suggest that salaries will hit a plateau, e.g. salary hits 10k and stays at 10k till retirement / retrenchment. Is this true for the companies you know?

3. This question may seem silly, but I don't see many old people in my company. Do you observe this in your company? Where do the older people go? I constantly wonder what will happen to me when I get older.

Appreciate your advice and sharing.

Last edited by quek; 15-10-2014 at 11:52 AM.
Old 15-10-2014, 12:15 PM
Unregistered

Most important is never say die! Keep going !

Old 15-10-2014, 12:17 PM
Unregistered

when you are old, just don't expect too much. not everyone can be a CEO or SVP. you are right about the pay peaking. it may even go down if you switch jobs. i've heard of this strategy: join the civil service in your late 30s and stay there.

Old 15-10-2014, 02:07 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by quek View Post
I'll be hitting the big 4-O very soon. As I'm just a middle manager, I think I may have already hit a plateau in my career.

1. Is it much harder to switch jobs in your 40s-50s? What do the older people usually do if they are unhappy with their current job and/or the company situation becomes unfavourable?