Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Competitive, if only real work experience from SME? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/4249-competitive-if-only-real-work-experience-sme.html)

wsxesz 30-07-2014 11:09 AM

Competitive, if only real work experience from SME?

Hi,

I work in a junior Strategy and BD role, in a low profile but decent sized SME in the natural resources sector (not Oil & Gas, but more physical commodities trading); have been there for about 1.5 years since graduation. Now, I'm trying to find my way out now because I can't take the politics.

My question is whether I am still viewed as competitive enough for MNCs, banks and the like? i have some experience in capital raising (pitchbook/decks, some structuring), pricing and scenario modeling, and the usual corporate work (market analysis, demand sizing and projections, etc.); but i'm not sure if the lack of a 'brand name' maybe a ding against me.

If it matters, I have a 2nd upper equivalent BComm (or BBA) from one of the better Aussie unis and previous internships in local bank, and a F500 MNC.

Appreciate any help or advice, if possible!

Unregistered 30-07-2014 04:37 PM

It depends what sort of job you want to join in a bank. If it’s backroom trading support kind still got chance. If you want to get back the same sort of job you now have but in a bank then very unlikely as you will end up competing with all the bank’s MA and experienced outsiders from well known banks.

wsxesz 30-07-2014 05:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 53984)
It depends what sort of job you want to join in a bank. If it’s backroom trading support kind still got chance. If you want to get back the same sort of job you now have but in a bank then very unlikely as you will end up competing with all the bank’s MA and experienced outsiders from well known banks.