Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Need advice for striving to be a corporate rm

Old 15-01-2013, 11:05 AM

supermint is on a distinguished road
Default Need advice for striving to be a corporate rm

hi all.

i will be graduating from my uol part time degree in banking and finance this may. so right now i really need to make up my mind which direction i would want to go. so i need some advice from the seniors here.

ive been working in an operations department for almost 3 years while taking my degree in the evenings. basically my job scope is admin and management reporting. so i have gain much knowledge on how the bank operates and how they keep track of their earnings and costs.

my manager have told me that i would most probably be promoted if i remain in the dept. however my goal is to be a relationship manager in corporate banking. i am not sure where is the starting point to be a rm. i have never seen a fresh grad position for rm before. what is the usual path to progress to rm position? will taking a CFA be a big advantage for an rm?

comparing operations and corporate banking, which would have a better career path?

i hope there are some senior bankers and rm here who can advice me on my goals. thanks for reading!

Old 15-01-2013, 11:48 AM
Unregistered

I was a RM in a US bank before leaving corporate banking about 2 years ago.

Joined as a management associate, did my rotations and finally decided to get "placed" in the corporate bank.

For my team, quite a number of the RMs were actually from operations before and being from operations does have advantages:
1. you would have worked directly with the RMs
2. you know the bank processess well
3. you would have accumulated certain product knowledge.