Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Banks VS Big 4 Audit (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/3286-banks-vs-big-4-audit.html)

Jobs 05-11-2013 12:32 AM

Banks VS Big 4 Audit

I'm currently studying accountancy in one of the local universities.

What I realise is that many of my peers try as much as possible to avoid the big 4s. Most would instead aim to secure a job in one of the banks.

Personally, I feel that the banks are over-hyped. I understand that the starting salaries of the banks are much higher (~1k higher) than the big 4s. But when we consider the salaries in the long run, those in big 4s would earn just as much, if not higher, than the average of those who work in the banks. The biggest plus is that the jobs in Big 4s are much, much more stable.

I'm referring to those mid/back office roles in the banks (e.g. risk, compliance, ops&tech, consumer, retail, finance, corporate, etc.), and not the front-office roles (i.e. S&T and investment banking).

However, despite that fact, the number of people trying to get into banks is just too many. Does anyone know why it is so? Or am I too pessimistic about the outlook/prospect of banks?

Unregistered 05-11-2013 09:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jobs (Post 44925)
The biggest plus is that the jobs in Big 4s are much, much more stable.
However, despite that fact, the number of people trying to get into banks is just too many. Does anyone know why it is so? Or am I too pessimistic about the outlook/prospect of banks?

Because they work you like a dog in big 4, clocking in till 2-3am when on assignments every so often and despite the higher pay (after working a few years) you have almost no life.