Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   AML/Compliance/KYC professionals come in! (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/3243-aml-compliance-kyc-professionals-come.html)

Unregistered 02-12-2017 09:26 AM

Anyone done both fcc and reg compliance before? how would you compare the 2 and which one is more interesting and better in terms of career progression, salary etc?

Unregistered 02-12-2017 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 102660)
Sorry which area of compliance are you talking about? Regulatory, sanctions? And did you do your law degree overseas?

Yes I did my law degree in UK, I'm currently doing cross border work.

Unregistered 06-12-2017 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 102662)
Anyone done both fcc and reg compliance before? how would you compare the 2 and which one is more interesting and better in terms of career progression, salary etc?

I started my career doing Reg Compliance for 8 years before moving to AML for 7 years.
I started Compliance before the regulations are in place, but that was a period when career progression within Compliance is much lesser and more uncommon. I experienced more career progression in AML, even though, similarly, I joined AML when it was not widely known/discussed.

I also done regional roles and country roles, and personally, I enjoy country roles more. Many regional roles are largely coordinator roles, making minimum impact. Yes, you have exposure in different countries, and some people enjoy business travel (I don't), I am not involved in major business decisions. For country roles, I enjoy having a say on business strategies, which customers to keep or exit, and the grayness that I have to deal with on a day to day basis.

Unregistered 10-12-2017 10:12 PM

Is there chance of a person who works in Operations for many years to move into AML Advisory?

Unregistered 10-12-2017 10:13 PM