Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   NUS 2nd lower class hard to get job? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/3087-national-university-singapore-2nd-lower-class-hard-get-job.html)

cityguy 12-09-2013 09:39 PM

NUS 2nd lower class hard to get job?

I am graduating from NUS. I have a 2nd lower class degree. Is it hard to get a job into the big 4 and banks?

I have visited banks and financial institution careers and found out that they are mostly looking for people with min 2nd upper class and above.

Anyone from banks/financial institution with a 2nd lower class?

Unregistered 13-09-2013 12:04 AM

I've got 3rd class honors and am in S&T in a tier 2 bank. But frankly there are far fewer people with 2nd lower and below in the front office roles. Can't really give a generalisation for back office though since there are many more roles available (requirements range from 1st class down to diploma).

Unregistered 20-09-2013 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cityguy (Post 42347)
I am graduating from NUS. I have a 2nd lower class degree. Is it hard to get a job into the big 4 and banks?

I have visited banks and financial institution careers and found out that they are mostly looking for people with min 2nd upper class and above.

Anyone from banks/financial institution with a 2nd lower class?

Yep, 2nd lower and in a bank.

Unregistered 20-09-2013 09:29 PM

my friend got into KPMG with NTU 3rd class. so dun give up hope.

she also performed well during the interview. but im not sure how she gt shortlisted based on resume/cover letter.

you prob need more than just your grades and certs to be shortlisted. I think experiences/internships/CCAs etc etc all taken into account.

Unregistered 20-09-2013 09:33 PM

Treatment

basic Degree from tier 2 aussie uni.....completed an internship with KPMG and was offered a perm role subsequently.

2nd lower shdnt be a problem. All the best!