Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   is 4300SGD a good salary to come to singapore from chennai (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2965-4300sgd-good-salary-come-singapore-chennai.html)

fromchennai 02-08-2013 10:15 PM

is 4300SGD a good salary to come to singapore from chennai

Hi Guys

How are you ?

I'm from chennai(India). I work in IT industry.

A company called me today and they told me that they can offer 4300SGD as salary. They told that it is a 1 year renewable contractual Positon.

I'm an unix administrator from chennai with 6 years of experience. I don't have any idea about the cost of living in singapore.

I need to know if 4300SGD is a good salary to stay in Singapore. What would be the expenses for a person ? Can I save money and send it to India ?

Please let me know.

Unregistered 02-08-2013 11:02 PM

Rental would be about 1500-1800 depending on how large your room or if you want to rent out a hall unit instead. Cost of living for one person would be about $800/mth. Thats considered frugal and without private transport. Means taking public transport all the way. You would still have enough to send back to your home country but you will not be living a very lavish and comfortable lifestyle.

Unregistered 02-08-2013 11:06 PM

Rental for a room can cost as low as 600-700, 900 and below of a master bedroom with air condition. but i am sure the company will be able to make arrangements for your accommodation. considering you will not be liable for cpf deductions, 4.3k is what you are taking home, it is comfortable salary as one would have to be earning 5.375k in singapore to be bringing home 4.3k.

Unregistered 05-08-2013 09:39 AM

SGD4300 should allow you to live slightly better than a low income group lifestyle in Singapore if you downgrade accomodation.

Unregistered 06-08-2013 06:37 PM

Given the cost of living in Singapore, 4300SGD is way too low.