Career advice pls (lost and confused) - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Career advice pls (lost and confused)

Old 25-04-2013, 08:10 PM

HGL is on a distinguished road
Default Career advice pls (lost and confused)

Hi everyone,

I graduated with B.Eng (Mechanical) from NTU (w/o honour) 4 years ago. Since graduation, I joined a small biomedical company (healthcare products) as a product design engineer. I had to do research works + designing of prototype/final products. Salary < 3k for all 4 years. Our products did not sell well in the end. I tried a number of job interviews during these years but the employers prefer someone who can do automation/robot design for design engineer. I have limited experience with automation and did not get any job offer. Luckily this year, I got an offer from a local engineering company as mechanical engineer with salary over 3k. The company provides engineering services (M&E, pumps, ACMV) with staff size of about 100. My job role is to support sales manager and do costing/billing/tenders and occasional site supervision. Working hours are long and no confirmed AWS. I am nearing to my thirties now and I need job stability and would like to be working in a managerial level. Is that a good choice that I made? How can I proceed from there to achieve my dream. Thank you.

Old 25-04-2013, 10:02 PM

jobhunter1234 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by HGL View Post
Hi everyone,