Advice for scholarship - Salary.sg Forums

Advice for scholarship

Old 02-01-2013, 03:32 PM

rubberbus is on a distinguished road
Default Advice for scholarship

hi, i'm studying at NTU EEE and currently year 2. I got rather good result for 1st sem and i would like to look for a scholarship.

so can anyone recommend me which scholarship is preferred. thank you

Old 02-01-2013, 07:54 PM

Do u have any interest in any particular specializations?

Industrial scholarships or academic scholarships?

Old 02-01-2013, 08:41 PM

Do u have any interest in any particular specializations?

Industrial scholarships or academic scholarships?
industrial scholarship is given by government companies?

actually i got no preference.. which specialization has better job prospects?

Old 03-01-2013, 09:26 AM

Default Some info for u

Originally Posted by rubberbus View Post
industrial scholarship is given by government companies?

actually i got no preference.. which specialization has better job prospects?
Err.. I'll assume that you are just exploring your choices without any particular interests then. Not looking into academic scholarships? PhD masters not interested? Research not interested? but dun worry lah. most ppl I know are actually like that, including me when i was still studying.

Industrial scholarships are not necessarily by GLC. Generally, a lot of companies do offer mid-term scholarships for undergraduates. You shld try to look around. Most of them sponsor u 2 years n bond u 2 years. That's the norm. Those defence-related or govt-related will back-pay u for all 4 years and bond u for 4-6 years or sth. Preferably u shld have 2nd upper and above. + CCA if u r looking at Keppel, Shell or those big names.

There are a ton of specializations for EEE. I'll list a few. Telecommunications, Micro-electronics, Power, Automation and Control, Bio-electronics, Manufacturing and maybe some more.

micro-E earns u a lot, but u need to OT. Not much work-life balance. But in a good month if u OT everyday (sat+sun included) can get 6k pm for fresh grad.

If u specialize in power, it will be relevant for u when it comes to oil & gas. if u join downstream (refineries), u can earn quite a lot. nowhere near 6k (at the beginning), but u have a cushy career with good bonus and good prospects. if u join upstream (exploration, contractors), u will find it a lot easier to emigrate as job opportunities are world-wide. but pay wise not as good as downstream. Keppel is considered upstream. ExxonMobil is downsteam. u can oso join construction as M&E engineer with power.

Defence-related like DSTA, sign on or whatever, they offer u good starting pay. stable job. limited career choices, but u r more or less set for life. Intellectually not really challenging, most valuable skill set u get is project management. but the money they give is comfortable. around 4k starting for fresh grad. 5k if u sign on.

Other areas i am not sure. automation&control look for ABB, SIEMENS, bio-anything i dunno, manufacturing actually includes all those solar panel, Hitachi Sony Mitsubishi & what not.

Of course, at the end of the day, a lot of EEE ppl flock to banks. Program hires can get around 3.8-5k pm. But they dun offer scholarships. We know some half-f*** programming, so can transition into their back-end operations easier than other engineers.
Old 03-01-2013, 12:39 PM

Err.. I'll assume that you are just exploring your choices without any particular interests then. Not looking into academic scholarships? PhD masters not interested? Research not interested? but dun worry lah. most ppl I know are actually like that, including me when i was still studying.

Industrial scholarships are not necessarily by GLC. Generally, a lot of companies do offer mid-term scholarships for undergraduates. You shld try to look around. Most of them sponsor u 2 years n bond u 2 years. That's the norm. Those defence-related or govt-related will back-pay u for all 4 years and bond u for 4-6 years or sth. Preferably u shld have 2nd upper and above. + CCA if u r looking at Keppel, Shell or those big names.

There are a ton of specializations for EEE. I'll list a few. Telecommunications, Micro-electronics, Power, Automation and Control, Bio-electronics, Manufacturing and maybe some more.

micro-E earns u a lot, but u need to OT. Not much work-life balance. But in a good month if u OT everyday (sat+sun included) can get 6k pm for fresh grad.

If u specialize in power, it will be relevant for u when it comes to oil & gas. if u join downstream (refineries), u can earn quite a lot. nowhere near 6k (at the beginning), but u have a cushy career with good bonus and good prospects. if u join upstream (exploration, contractors), u will find it a lot easier to emigrate as job opportunities are world-wide. but pay wise not as good as downstream. Keppel is considered upstream. ExxonMobil is downsteam. u can oso join construction as M&E engineer with power.

Defence-related like DSTA, sign on or whatever, they offer u good starting pay. stable job. limited career choices, but u r more or less set for life. Intellectually not really challenging, most valuable skill set u get is project management. but the money they give is comfortable. around 4k starting for fresh grad. 5k if u sign on.

Other areas i am not sure. automation&control look for ABB, SIEMENS, bio-anything i dunno, manufacturing actually includes all those solar panel, Hitachi Sony Mitsubishi & what not.

Of course, at the end of the day, a lot of EEE ppl flock to banks. Program hires can get around 3.8-5k pm. But they dun offer scholarships. We know some half-f*** programming, so can transition into their back-end operations easier than other engineers.
Hi, thank you for ur help. u really know alot. thats cool..
actually i dont know how to look for scholarship, i;m just waiting for sch to email any scholarship opportunity.

anyway, is keppel very unpopular or dangerous? most of my frens said they wont join keppel and rejected their scholarship.

seems like power has a better job prospect and better pay. u studying power?

actually i'm thinking to work for few years after graduating then i will study master in engineering with finance so that i can join the bank. is it a good choice?

studying engineering in NTU is killing me alr plus singapore dont respect engineer is another **** thing to know.
Old 03-01-2013, 12:46 PM

hi, hows thr job prospect for m&e engineer like? salary range and jobscope blahblah thanks.

Old 03-01-2013, 12:52 PM

how about getting a postgraduate scholarship from the government? heard from my friends their ministry send them overseas to study.
Old 03-01-2013, 01:19 PM

u yr 2 now? or starting yr 2? year 1 is all the foundation modules with nth specific. most ppl, if they intend to do EEE, will find that they have some interests in some particular subjects in ur specialized modules.

my advice to you is to take ur time now and explore ur interest. go internship first. go take some modules see where ur strength is first. dun need rush into getting scholarships. ur current thinking abt scholarship emails are ok, but dun just limit urself to them. if u can surf forum, u definitely can find those websites n apply. but hor, apply n dun accept hor, some companies will blacklist u one. private sector dun care much abt scholarships one. u dun necessarily get an accelerated path. u get already ownself happy only. but govt sector is obsessed with it. whatever it is, must remember the bond.

keppel has high bonus. 8-11+ months across the board. several years already. it is imba one. hard to find anything tt matches it in monetary terms. a lot of things to learn. if u intend to enter the marine industry, going keppel/sembcorp is the best way. they r like nurseries for the industry. every1 start there den branch out. a lot of career opportunities actually. Scholarship interview is 5 rounds btw. but keppel is NO life. u change here change there oso wun change out of tuas/benoi/pioneer/kranji. ur workplace is some ulu ulu shipyard. u smell iron in the air. some ppl say bad for health. saturday is a working day. if u dun have girlfriend by now, good luck if u choose keppel.

but if you intend to go banking, den 'break ur axe and sink ur ship' now n start looking. start networking (if u havent been doing) and do internship at a bank. do shiet shred paper oso go do. dun bother with 2-4 years engineering. by then u will have much more excuses to stay put and remain unhappy with life. somehow ppl are fascinated by all the gold in banks. also if u intend to go sell insurance, pls do so now. really dun waste time with engineering. engineering = max 40-50k per annum. bank/insurance = 40-50k if u cmi.

ps. my frens (1st class to 3rd class) all dun even get interview chance when they apply. only mistake was they nvr do internship at banks.
Old 03-01-2013, 03:37 PM

u yr 2 now? or starting yr 2? year 1 is all the foundation modules with nth specific. most ppl, if they intend to do EEE, will find that they have some interests in some particular subjects in ur specialized modules.

my advice to you is to take ur time now and explore ur interest. go internship first. go take some modules see where ur strength is first. dun need rush into getting scholarships. ur current thinking abt scholarship emails are ok, but dun just limit urself to them. if u can surf forum, u definitely can find those websites n apply. but hor, apply n dun accept hor, some companies will blacklist u one. private sector dun care much abt scholarships one. u dun necessarily get an accelerated path. u get already ownself happy only. but govt sector is obsessed with it. whatever it is, must remember the bond.

keppel has high bonus. 8-11+ months across the board. several years already. it is imba one. hard to find anything tt matches it in monetary terms. a lot of things to learn. if u intend to enter the marine industry, going keppel/sembcorp is the best way. they r like nurseries for the industry. every1 start there den branch out. a lot of career opportunities actually. Scholarship interview is 5 rounds btw. but keppel is NO life. u change here change there oso wun change out of tuas/benoi/pioneer/kranji. ur workplace is some ulu ulu shipyard. u smell iron in the air. some ppl say bad for health. saturday is a working day. if u dun have girlfriend by now, good luck if u choose keppel.

but if you intend to go banking, den 'break ur axe and sink ur ship' now n start looking. start networking (if u havent been doing) and do internship at a bank. do shiet shred paper oso go do. dun bother with 2-4 years engineering. by then u will have much more excuses to stay put and remain unhappy with life. somehow ppl are fascinated by all the gold in banks. also if u intend to go sell insurance, pls do so now. really dun waste time with engineering. engineering = max 40-50k per annum. bank/insurance = 40-50k if u cmi.

ps. my frens (1st class to 3rd class) all dun even get interview chance when they apply. only mistake was they nvr do internship at banks.
hi, i direct poly so sch start i will be year2 sem2. so far what interest me is digital electronic, circuit analysis and math.

wah, keppel sounds damn no life.. not for me. even though the $$$ damn attractive.

its really difficult to look ahead, feel so lost. damn it. i need to talk to my mentor when sch reopen alr.