Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Dilemma: Accountancy vs Investigator

Old 11-12-2012, 11:31 AM

confused_88 is on a distinguished road
Default Dilemma: Accountancy vs Investigator

I'm a DL Grad in A&F with 2:2 Honours.

Currently drawing 2.5k as accounts exec, future looking quite bleak unless gets to join big 4 firms.

Got offered 4k in govt sector doing investigation work but will have to sacrifice the specialized degree that I'm holding. Heard of the narrow prospects but the starting pay is so tempting.

Got advised to take up the new offer and study part time for CPA or CFA as value add so I have something to fall back on. Good choice?

Old 11-12-2012, 12:20 PM
Unregistered

dont be tricked by the high starting salary.
the salary is high to prevent people from leaving; just like in the uniform service.
furthermore, as you said, prospects are bleak.

Old 11-12-2012, 12:32 PM
Unregistered

can you share which agency you are intending to join?

if the job is finance related investigation eg AGC, MAS then maybe it would be a good move.
However if the investigation was for agencies such as CPIB, SPF then I would say that you can forget about going for part time studies.

Old 11-12-2012, 02:30 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by confused_88 View Post
I'm a DL Grad in A&F with 2:2 Honours.

Currently drawing 2.5k as accounts exec, future looking quite bleak unless gets to join big 4 firms.

Got offered 4k in govt sector doing investigation work but will have to sacrifice the specialized degree that I'm holding. Heard of the narrow prospects but the starting pay is so tempting.

Got advised to take up the new offer and study part time for CPA or CFA as value add so I have something to fall back on. Good choice?