Anyone jobless for a long time before?

Old 19-11-2012, 02:28 PM

cslee is on a distinguished road

Really??? Do you have any lobangs? I have been looking for a job since July. I have a part-time marketing degree from Unisim but I am having difficulties getting a related job due to lack of prior experience. Wld you elaborate on what types of jobs are available offshore operations, construction sectors?
Pl speak to the recruiters directly. Tell them you don't mind any industry, is hungry to learn a skill and is willing to commit. I'm sure they would be able to find something for you.

Old 19-11-2012, 02:31 PM

Default them IsADec

heys, chill my man. I was being sarcastic. pure sarcasm to the posters who said they earn 200,000......
its ok, the problem with earning this amount of salary, is earning the peak already and continue doing so from 40 to 50-60 years old is extremely stagnated and life is really boring everyday wearing a mask at work to show people you are in control but actually inside, every morning to drive to work is a 'SIAN' apart from driving the car itself. lately, as the road gets more jam up, driving it self also 'SIAN' regardless how many horses you are equipped with.

you see the point, there is emptiness even at the top of the pyramid, and the saddest thing about it is we cannot tell anyone about it and have to hide the feeling and say it out in places such as this one.

Old 19-11-2012, 02:45 PM

its ok, the problem with earning this amount of salary, is earning the peak already and continue doing so from 40 to 50-60 years old is extremely stagnated and life is really boring everyday wearing a mask at work to show people you are in control but actually inside, every morning to drive to work is a 'SIAN' apart from driving the car itself. lately, as the road gets more jam up, driving it self also 'SIAN' regardless how many horses you are equipped with.

you see the point, there is emptiness even at the top of the pyramid, and the saddest thing about it is we cannot tell anyone about it and have to hide the feeling and say it out in places such as this one.
you are extremely right. just can't say it out. problem is how to sustain.

Old 19-11-2012, 02:48 PM

Default sksRou 257

you are extremely right. just can't say it out. problem is how to sustain.
for as long as possible, 1 year spend 100k then save 200k, 5 years is 1million sing dollars saved. should be enough to sustain retirement if continue frugal lifestyle i guess.
Old 19-11-2012, 03:13 PM

Default unemployed in singapore

Currently unemployed over a year. Graduate from local uni, jobs all taken by FT. Govt full employment is a lie.
Old 19-11-2012, 03:18 PM

Default unemployed in singapore

If you havent realise that recruiters will only offer u 7-9 bucks per hr job as a graduate. That will come up to only 1.6k a month if you want to work for crap pay. Businesses are doing very badly in singapore so jobs are few and given to FW and FT. Locals can certainly eat grass or take the 7-9 bucks job. 2013 will be much worst.

Old 19-11-2012, 03:20 PM

I can empathize. There are a lot more office politics at the top. Hence, what you say may or may not come against you. I guess why some senior execs go about doing what they are doing because they have reached the peak and just looking at sustaining.
Old 19-11-2012, 03:38 PM

I want to laugh out loud when I see some bros type " 5 years save 1 million should be enough for retirement if you LIVE FRUGALLY" I was like what the hell!?

Okay so if you dont have 1 million you cant retire lah haha
Old 19-11-2012, 06:30 PM

This is what i call the 'trapped by money' syndrome, where the things you own end up owning you, things includes jobs, car, hdb, wife, kids. Its time to let go of all excess package and start living life the way you want, without encumberances, doing things that society deems correct just to 'save face' or showoff to people who dont care about you. Life is short, just do what you enjoy. If you have so much money and is miserable about your 200 k / per annum job, why not try a sideline business and see if it can thrive before plunging into it full time.
Old 19-11-2012, 06:57 PM

This is what i call the 'trapped by money' syndrome, where the things you own end up owning you, things includes jobs, car, hdb, wife, kids. Its time to let go of all excess package and start living life the way you want, without encumberances, doing things that society deems correct just to 'save face' or showoff to people who dont care about you. Life is short, just do what you enjoy. If you have so much money and is miserable about your 200 k / per annum job, why not try a sideline business and see if it can thrive before plunging into it full time.
All this talk about rich people feel very sian, hard to work with office politics or trapped by money nonsense is just something touted by poor under-achievers to convince themselves and others in the same boat why life "sux" being rich and high up in senior management. This has the effect of making them feel less paifuln about their lack of material possession and lifestyle while giving the impression they could have achieved much more, but "conciously" choose to downgrade themselves.

Fastest way to smoke this kind of people out is to ask them if given a choice will they choose:

a) being trapped by money, sian driving a car, show off to save face and playing office politics with lots of money

b) poor in rat race, with lost of "work life balance" and spiritual well-being

Suddenly 95% of the people dont mind being "trapped" after all.