Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Anyone jobless for a long time before?

Old 07-07-2019, 10:06 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
No offence..a hiring manager who readily dismisses candidates who leave without a job is short sighted.
Agreed to disagree. Let’s look at it this way, you have 400 resumes in front of you, the machine chooses 100 out of it (assuming that the one who left without a job get passed the algo, very rare).

Can you imagine what is your chance of getting an interview out of these 100 candidates? Zero, or <5% if you have some connections (referral, etc.). The reality is Singapore is not in shortage of talents, there are just so many foreigners wanting to start their careers here, they ask for lower pay while having few times better / more beautiful resume than yours.

When I was a fresh graduate many years back, I wondered why I only got 1 interview in average after sending out >10 tailored made resumes, now I get it, it is just how the hiring process works, whether you believe it or not.

Old 07-07-2019, 10:11 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Mid 30s, currently jobless since March.

I was in a job for 1.5 years that went sour quickly in the last few months before i left. Even thou the other colleagues, salary and company were generally OK... the immediate circumstances i was in made leaving the only choice. That's all i'll reveal as there's no point in digging up past wrongdoings even if i'm not the one responsible for it.