Work culture in IHiS - Page 4 - Salary.sg Forums

Work culture in IHiS

Old 22-07-2014, 02:26 PM

hmmm....I have got an interview 3 weeks back, still no update. anyone knows the salary for a PM role?

Old 23-07-2014, 02:34 PM

hmmm....I have got an interview 3 weeks back, still no update. anyone knows the salary for a PM role?
Their salary is based on BANDS, so even if you're a PM depends on which band you fall in. But their PM role is not a true PM role, its more or less project and vendor administration.

Old 23-07-2014, 04:04 PM

No matter how existing stafff try to beautify the job, there is no denying of the fact the place is far from attractive.

When was the last time you heard some guy who was offered a job in Google, IBM, SAP, Microsoft, Oracle etc. gave up and come to join IHiS?

If you look at the profile of the IT guys there, it's mostly people with CVs in SMEs, stat boards or GLC. Even then most of them don't stay long and hop onto another place fast.

The pay is only so so, basic + 1 mth aws + 2 mth bonus on average with erratic work hours. For those no choice because you cant get better offers or no ambition to move up, the job security and camaraderie might be attractive. For the rest, stay away if you can.

Old 23-07-2014, 05:07 PM

No matter how existing stafff try to beautify the job, there is no denying of the fact the place is far from attractive.

When was the last time you heard some guy who was offered a job in Google, IBM, SAP, Microsoft, Oracle etc. gave up and come to join IHiS?

If you look at the profile of the IT guys there, it's mostly people with CVs in SMEs, stat boards or GLC. Even then most of them don't stay long and hop onto another place fast.

The pay is only so so, basic + 1 mth aws + 2 mth bonus on average with erratic work hours. For those no choice because you cant get better offers or no ambition to move up, the job security and camaraderie might be attractive. For the rest, stay away if you can.
dun even say well known companies lah, who can find job in a ministry will go IHiS instead
Old 23-07-2014, 05:47 PM

Not true at all. There are a few top talents from big MNC like Exxon, Unilever, GSK, Apple etc. over here.
Old 26-07-2014, 10:42 AM

Let's all be honest with the rest that the growth here is minimal. In this place, you "grow" or promote by staying for as long as you can. It's a place for those who have no dreams of doing big in their career. Leave this place after a few years and you will find your experience has little value unless you plan on going into other gov healthcare groups.

You will feel the life here is fast paced because of all the pressings on you. You stand in-between everyone, and they all look up to you for answers that you don't even know. They will hold you for what ever answer you give to them and this is the stress. Your job is to be a good middleman.

In the end, for how ever long you stay at this place, you may learn something, but not many of these things you have learnt will bring you far. Before you think you are saving or going to save lives, no, you are not. They may sell you this novel idea too. The truth is, most of the time, you are just that admin/maintainer/mechanic/helpdesk guy for a system. When the real life savers (the doctors and nurses) have an issue with a system, they call you. You can't fix it, you call vendor. Vendor replies you, you are lucky. Vendor can't yet, you are deemed as hindering the life-saving process. Did you just think you are going to save lives? Think again.

You are just a middleman, what kind of headhunter calls do you think you can expect to receive?

Turnover rate here is quite high from plain observation. Most people who are still in the office into the night will complain about their lives. It's naive to think that they are there because they are saving lives. Be honest.

Their pay is reasonable. AWS, VB and benefits are pretty good when compared to many companies.

For fresh graduates, just as what many here have said, stay away for you won't learn much. This cannot be your first job. You will waste your time here. If you have a thing for the healthcare sector, there are better places. This is a place for people who prepare to retire or enjoy bragging about the "big" things they had done when all they actually were doing were making phone calls and sending out emails, talking, talking and talking. That's the kind of IT you will be in, if you join them. You're warned.
what this guy mentioned is pretty true . As long as you are not the Drs and nurses , you're basically like a second citizen to them . I am not in IT nor IHIS , but supporting role in healthcare . There's a form of "hireachy " ( i guess it's same for most work places .. ), definitely the pay increment in healthcare isn't that fantastic to begin with unless you're the doctor.

Old 26-07-2014, 05:27 PM

Not true at all. There are a few top talents from big MNC like Exxon, Unilever, GSK, Apple etc. over here.
this is complete BS!

i challenge you to name me who exactly in IHIS was a top talent in these mega mncs.

please lor, an associate or engineer in Exxon or any of the oil supermajor is likely paid more than a director in IHIS. the top talents there are paid much more than even the top drs here.

want to lie at least do it better, dun spread false info to mislead others who are thinking of applying
Old 28-07-2014, 12:07 AM

this is complete BS!

i challenge you to name me who exactly in IHIS was a top talent in these mega mncs.

please lor, an associate or engineer in Exxon or any of the oil supermajor is likely paid more than a director in IHIS. the top talents there are paid much more than even the top drs here.

want to lie at least do it better, dun spread false info to mislead others who are thinking of applying
I work there 1.5 years ago and never heard of anyone who was from these big MNC, much less so called top talent.

Old 30-07-2014, 09:19 AM

Is this place a good starting point for fresh graduates?
Old 03-08-2014, 06:22 PM

Is this place a good starting point for fresh graduates?
Frankly, no. Be it their software engineer or analyst positions, this place is not one for fresh graduates to grow or learn. You will know almost immediately when you enter that place.