Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Can fresh grad negotiate for higher starting pay in stat board? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2025-can-fresh-grad-negotiate-higher-starting-pay-stat-board.html)

geekinthepink 25-06-2012 11:37 PM

Can fresh grad negotiate for higher starting pay in stat board?

Hi, I'm a female fresh graduate from NUS. I did my Honours and graduated with a second upper. I have a job offer from a stat board, the starting pay is $3150. Is this the standard starting pay for a fresh grad seeking employment in a stat board? I'm really excited to start work and am enthusiastic about the job scope.

However I also get the impression that some of the other ministries pay higher starting pay. Is it a good idea to attempt to negotiate for higher starting pay, although I am a fresh grad? I have a good CCA record, have gone for exchange programmes, have good O level and A level results.

Unregistered 26-06-2012 12:03 AM

No. Unless you have something unique or special that they have identified and so die-die must have you, otherwise its quite fixed according to your honours class.

Unregistered 26-06-2012 12:42 AM

All fresh degree grad (with totally ZERO working exp) have ZERO negotiating power to ministry or statboard, they will pay you accordingly to you class of honours or/and with NS if applicable.

can reveal what statboard? if cannot can at least reveal in statboard is under which ministry?

Thank you

Unregistered 26-06-2012 09:43 AM

Before you take up the job, are the job skills generic? High starting pay, however there may not be a road ahead with generic skills.
People who then move to private sector will then offer paycut. Just for consideration.

max1 26-06-2012 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by geekinthepink (Post 26084)