Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Would Like To Seek Advices (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1952-would-like-seek-advices.html)

EXO 29-05-2012 07:39 PM

Would Like To Seek Advices

Same old story.

Performed average for GCE 'A' Levels but unable to do well enough to qualify for local universities.

As expected, received rejection letters from all 3 universities.

Thus far, comparing UAS with my fellow peers, I am able to get into 'less-prestigious' Engineering courses in local universities.

Have also applied to SIM where I'm able to pursue my passion and interest and it's an industry I forsee my future to be in (compared to Engineering).

My options are as follow:

01 Appeal for Engineering (Suck it up and do engineering & won't probably do well as I'm not good with Physics & Mathematics)
02 Appeal for Business/Economics (But UAS are kinda a far cry from their IGP 10th percentile; chances are fairly slim)
03 Go ahead with SIM. (Future career prospects?)

Thank you for your inputs!
It would be good if I could get advices from experienced individuals out in the working society now.
It's only a few days more to deadline of appeal.

PS. Option of overseas education is out as parents disallow it.

Unregistered 29-05-2012 08:20 PM

Can you afford overseas education? If yes, why are your parents "disallowing" it?

Unregistered 29-05-2012 09:07 PM

Never ever enter engineering even as a last resort. You'll regret it for life.

poor and stupid 30-05-2012 10:31 AM

NO ENGINEERING, study other crappy subject also no engineering. Not only the pay low, there got a lot of cheena people who cannot get into other courses due to language barrier to come and trash you and push your pay lower than them cos ur results sux.

Unregistered 30-05-2012 11:17 AM

all else equal, local deg cert > private deg