Can Singapore run without blue collar workers? why are we unappreciated? - Page 2 - Salary.sg Forums

Can Singapore run without blue collar workers? why are we unappreciated?

Old 19-05-2012, 04:02 PM

bluecollarsingaporean is on a distinguished road

So all Singaporean must have a degree from public university? But the gov says we dont need too many degree holder

I dont mind foreign workers,they sacrifice something to earn extras but why are our wages low? Gov policy i bet,not bcos of foreign workers... they can just change their policy,oh i know it's complicated and they probably know it's unsustainable economically to keep growing in this capitalist economic system.

Yea who am i yo say,im just ITE

Old 20-05-2012, 11:10 AM

Sam Adams is on a distinguished road

I'm sure you've already seen this...

What Singapore can learn from Europe By Tommy Koh SG Hard Truth

Old 20-05-2012, 04:02 PM

Thanks for sharing if there's occupy sgx in singapore, i'll be more then glad to join knowing that singapore lacks police officers and can't afford to call up everyone for reservist as it'll stall the economy

Why do we need a prime minister and a president,can't we just have one? - what's with their wages

Old 23-05-2012, 06:29 AM

Talking

hey bluecollarsingaporean ,
It's not that bleak, I am 27 this year and like you only holding a nitec from ITE. I am working as a plant operator in the refinery. Compare to many of my peers from Uni i am earning more then them. FYI my last year income is about 70kp.a. And i only work 15days in a month. So brother, not true that the so called white collar earn much more then us many of them earn peanuts!
First you much know with your cert where can you get the most out of it, second aim there and try you every best to get in. you can try, oil/gas, petrolchem , pharmaceutical productions, enegry, shipyard, safety, air craft engr...etc
Secondly you will need to upgrade. As you cannot compare to degree holder outside you gotta made youself specialist, take steam engr licence if you can, boiler attandent, WDA safety officer licence...etc.
Thirdly , you must have the dare put in extra effort and tell youself you are no lesser then an NUS grad. And you will make it. Look in army there is CO but also got RSM post for spec so don worry find your way to be a RSM lah. no doubt RSM don earn more then a CO but i believe a airforce RSM sure earn more then a OC in infantry.
Old 23-05-2012, 09:22 AM

This is the hard truth in SG. Blue collars are not appreciated here nor they are paid decently. You can follow up on the suggestions as mentioned earlier, start a business to provide services say fix air con, open garage and fix cars, welding company etc etc, choose a well paying and niche trade, say as petrochemical plant operator, offshore oil rig or platform operator, crane operator, rope access technician etc etc. Last is to get out of SG and migrate to another country where ur trade is more appreciated
Old 23-05-2012, 12:46 PM

1450/mth is not bad for higher nitec, and yes sg gov no nid you, they can get bangla for 600 use them in their prime for 2years then change.

I studied in ite before too, most of my friends sign on and they are the ones that are earning reasonable pay. Maybe cos that one cannot bangla.

Do becareful if you want to start business, my classmate with onli nitec came out of amry after 6years; staff sgt, with 35k cash in bank he try logistic and distributor business, now kenna bust, somemore hard to find job, cannot go back amry everyday at home emo and play diablo3.

I recommend taking up driving lesson class5, drive for 2years if you assigned to chemical tankers can take home 3.1k/mth drive 4.5trips/day no chance for overtime thou

Old 23-05-2012, 02:11 PM

I have intentions to upgrade part time engineering diploma in SP actually but after reading in some threads over here how bad it is for engineering wahlao think million2 times

Want to change field not sure how and what

It seems that a lot in our society only likes to talk,do presentation and point fingers

Jialat lah like that bcome like dubai,only thing is the people still working and complaining abt mrt breakdown but dono how to fix
Old 23-05-2012, 02:14 PM

Im not sure if 4 days work 1 day off including weekends sounds good to you with that paycheck

Mayb b bus driver better hands need not dirty -_-"

What if everyone holds a degree,gov cannot think meh? How society function?

We are all born leader < wtf,no follower no leader

1450/mth is not bad for higher nitec, and yes sg gov no nid you, they can get bangla for 600 use them in their prime for 2years then change.

I studied in ite before too, most of my friends sign on and they are the ones that are earning reasonable pay. Maybe cos that one cannot bangla.

Do becareful if you want to start business, my classmate with onli nitec came out of amry after 6years; staff sgt, with 35k cash in bank he try logistic and distributor business, now kenna bust, somemore hard to find job, cannot go back amry everyday at home emo and play diablo3.

I recommend taking up driving lesson class5, drive for 2years if you assigned to chemical tankers can take home 3.1k/mth drive 4.5trips/day no chance for overtime thou

Last edited by bluecollarsingaporean; 23-05-2012 at 02:16 PM.
Old 23-05-2012, 02:18 PM

hey bluecollarsingaporean ,
It's not that bleak, I am 27 this year and like you only holding a nitec from ITE. I am working as a plant operator in the refinery. Compare to many of my peers from Uni i am earning more then them. FYI my last year income is about 70kp.a. And i only work 15days in a month. So brother, not true that the so called white collar earn much more then us many of them earn peanuts!
First you much know with your cert where can you get the most out of it, second aim there and try you every best to get in. you can try, oil/gas, petrolchem , pharmaceutical productions, enegry, shipyard, safety, air craft engr...etc
Secondly you will need to upgrade. As you cannot compare to degree holder outside you gotta made youself specialist, take steam engr licence if you can, boiler attandent, WDA safety officer licence...etc.
Thirdly , you must have the dare put in extra effort and tell youself you are no lesser then an NUS grad. And you will make it. Look in army there is CO but also got RSM post for spec so don worry find your way to be a RSM lah. no doubt RSM don earn more then a CO but i believe a airforce RSM sure earn more then a OC in infantry.
Thank you for sharing i belive 70k p.a is a standard blue collar wages fotlr other developed countries
Old 23-05-2012, 02:27 PM

anyway i dont mind those bangla,indian,china or africa come to sg to work blue collar earn 70k its the gov policy...china cheaper? Didnt they not include bribing expenditure as cost? Dono what to say lah 1970 there was a strike and they will probably another soon

P.s: majority red eye managers thats why our low pay? A friend was dismissed bcos he earns more then his manager due to OT