Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Career as Teacher

Old 25-03-2014, 07:54 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
may i know how long will it take for a female education officer to promote from GEO1.1 to GEO 1A1? And is it normal for GEO 1.1 to be getting C for first year grading ?
It depends. By theory, you can get promoted once you are confirmed (i.e. after the first yr) I got promoted after 1yr 10months. However, I know of colleagues who only promoted after 2.5 to 3 yrs.

Old 01-06-2014, 06:15 PM

sunshinecafe is on a distinguished road

Anyone has experience with international schools like CNIS? I am referring to private international schools. Are they the same as govt schools in terms of welfare, workload and salary?

I am a mechanical engineer who by chance got a job to teach for A Level physics and maths in China. It has been 2 years already and I love the environment here. Just prepare your lessons, and deliver the lessons, mark some class tests and homeworks and that's it. No admin, no extra CCAs, but the career prospect is definitely not that high. But I am currently planning for some back ups just in case I need to return back to sg.

So far, I understand to teach in many of the schs, I need at least PGDE. But I don't want to be bonded. So the fees is like 20k and I need to study in Sg. So I was wondering if those international schools accept PGCE? A distance diploma offered by UK which I can do anywhere. I do have TEFL; I am still thinking whether I should get TESOL.

My worst(maybe best) scenario I have planned is that I will be doing lots of private tutoring to get a decent pay, and the pay is not even stable. But tutoring is like you have to work during the hours when your family and friends are free for gatherings. Correct me if I am wrong.