Career as Teacher - Page 118 - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Career as Teacher

Old 02-09-2018, 09:21 AM

b4zabeat is on a distinguished road

I would like to ask about relief teaching assignments. I have already gotten the SRE approval, and have approached many schools in my area to ask. But, most of them told me that that they do not need relief teachers. I have tried this for several years to get a school teaching experience, but to no avail. Can anyone advise me? Thank you!

Last edited by b4zabeat; 02-09-2018 at 09:24 AM.
Old 02-09-2018, 02:10 PM
Unregistered

For the most part... probably.

However, the ranking panel is made out of multiple ppl; if said bootlicker fails to make a good impression on others then it might not.

Let's put it this way - there are multiple factors at work here, and (I think) the situation's probably not as bad as one might think. The average panel member probably aims to give fair grades to the school's colleagues; although probably biased (whether consciously or not) towards the ppl they know (esp. their dept officers). Since multiple departments are represented, this will tend to balance out (sometimes not).

Hard work and competence do play a part in this; my point is more that people need to know about these in order to be recognised during ranking. As a thought exercise... here are three hypothetical officers. How do you think they will be ranked, assuming the same grade?

A: Obvious 'bootlicker', takes on many dept projects, quite liked by HOD. Skives off for CCA / committees.
B: Mediocre officer, genuinely enthusiastic disposition, generally happy to help out anyone who asks.
C: Hardworking capable officer, very quiet, leaves school early to do marking outside.