Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 31-07-2020 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 142989)
Is it true that cross-level Teachers (secondary to primary) will be reassessed and not be promoted for three years?

I've a colleague from crossed from JC to Sec last year and got promoted this year.

Unregistered 01-08-2020 12:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 143017)
I'm a recent graduate from a local uni (male, FCH) who was offered 3.8k starting pay for contract teaching

Am I being underpaid? I read in this thread that some are already getting 3.9k with just second upper...

First question: did you factor in NS increment
Second question: is your uni degree one of the core teaching subjects? E.g. sciences, languages, geography, math etc?

Unregistered 01-08-2020 08:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 143075)
First question: did you factor in NS increment
Second question: is your uni degree one of the core teaching subjects? E.g. sciences, languages, geography, math etc?

Yes to both...it already includes NS, and my uni major aligned to my teaching subject (Chemistry)

Unregistered 01-08-2020 10:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 143080)
Yes to both...it already includes NS, and my uni major aligned to my teaching subject (Chemistry)

3.9 is high. I only got a low side of 3k years back when I joined MOE

Unregistered 02-08-2020 12:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 143017)
I'm a recent graduate from a local uni (male, FCH) who was offered 3.8k starting pay for contract teaching

Am I being underpaid? I read in this thread that some are already getting 3.9k with just second upper...